Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Britannia Stadium (ATT 26,609) 4th May 2008 - Kick off 14:00 Ref: M Dean

Stoke Stoke City vs Leicester City Leicester

Stoke 0


Stoke are promoted

Stoke up, Leicester down

Potters get the point they need but this is not enough for the Foxes

Last Updated: 04/05/08 5:00pm

  • Share:
Goal-less draw

Goal-less draw

Stoke were promoted to the top flight after a 23-year-absence and Leicester were relegated to the third tier of English football for the first time after they shared a goal-less draw at the Britannia Stadium.

It was a rollercoaster of emotions on the final day of the season for the 26,609 fans inside the ground, particularly for those supporters from Leicester whose transistor radios were tuned into the extraordinary events taking place at St Mary's between Southampton and Sheffield United.

The tide turned many times for Foxes fans, but ultimately Southampton's 3-2 victory ensured they would be frequenting League One stadia next season.

By contrast, Stoke's promotion was all but sealed when news filtered through midway into the second half that Hull were losing at Ipswich.

On the field Stoke dominated the first half but could not manage to break the deadlock.

The visitors almost took the lead when Gareth McAuley headed a corner onto the right post in the 61st minute.

Penalty shout

They then had a genuine penalty shout turned down when Richard Stearman was brought down on the edge of the box. Iain Hume put the subsequent free-kick over the bar.

With 10 minutes remaining Leicester twice came agonisingly close to scoring the goal that would have saved them.

Stoke keeper Carlo Nash kept out Hume's half-volley before he athletically tipped Stearman's header over the crossbar from the resulting corner.

The game was held up by a pitch invasion during injury-time but it merely postponed the inevitable as both teams left the Championship, but in different directions.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Bournemouth 46 90
2 Watford 46 89
3 Norwich City 46 86
4 Middlesbrough 46 85
5 Brentford 46 78
6 Ipswich Town 46 78
7 Wolverhampton Wanderers 46 78
8 Derby County 46 77
9 Blackburn Rovers 46 67
10 Birmingham City 46 63
11 Cardiff City 46 62
12 Charlton Athletic 46 60
13 Sheffield Wednesday 46 60
14 Nottingham Forest 46 59
15 Leeds United 46 56
16 Huddersfield Town 46 55
17 Fulham 46 52
18 Bolton Wanderers 46 51
19 Reading 46 50
20 Brighton and Hove Albion 46 47
21 Rotherham United 46 46
22 Millwall 46 41
23 Wigan Athletic 46 39
24 Blackpool 46 26