The 2014 German GP preview: Everything you need to know about this weekend's race!

F1 returns to Hockenheim for the first time since 2012

By William Esler.   Last Updated: 17/07/14 9:49am

  • Share:

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

The 2014 German GP preview: Everything you need to know about this weekend's race!

F1 returns to Hockenheim this year as the race continues alternate with the Nurburgring, albeit a very different circuit than the one that first hosted a grand prix in 1970 following its revamp at the turn of the century.

So read on below as Sky Sports Online provides your one-stop shop for everything you need to know about the grand prix weekend.

The 2014 German GP in a nutshell

Track: Hockenheimring. Permanent circuit.

Race start time: 1pm UK time Sunday (2pm local).

Laps: 67.

Track length: 4.574 km.

Tyre allocation: Soft (yellow) and supersoft (red)

DRS Zones: Two – Between Turns One and Two and Turns Four and Six.

Driver steward: Jochen Mass.

Lap record: Kimi Raikkonen - 1:13.780 (McLaren; 2004).

2012 pole: Fernando Alonso - 1:40.621 (Ferrari).

Fernando Alonso: On pole in 2012

Sky Sports F1's schedule

Thursday 17th July
2pm - Drivers' Press Conference - Live!

Friday 18th July
8:45am – German GP Practice One - Live!
11am – GP2 Practice – Live!
12:45pm – German GP Practice Two - Live!
2:50pm – GP2 Qualifying – Live!
4pm – Team Principals’ Press Conference.
5pm – The F1 Show – Live!

Saturday 19th July
8:45am – GP3 Qualifying – Live!
9:45am – German GP Practice Three - Live!
12pm – German GP Qualifying – Live!
2:35pm – GP2 Feature Race – Live!
4:15pm – GP3 Race One – Live!

Sunday 20th July
8:20am – GP3 Race Two – Live!
9:30am – GP2 Sprint Race – Live!
11:30am – The 2014 German GP – Track Parade – Live!
12pm - The 2014 German GP – Race – Live! 
3:30pm - The 2014 German GP – Paddock Live!

Form guide

Fernando Alonso has won the previous two grands prix at Hockenheim and also took victory at the venue in 2005. The only other multiple winner of the German GP currently on the grid is Lewis Hamilton, but his 2008 and 2011 victories are split across two venues. Sebastian Vettel has also won the race, breaking his duck on home soil last year at the Nurburgring.

2012 result: 1. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari); 2. Jenson Button (McLaren); 3. Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus); 4. Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber); 5. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull); 6. Sergio Perez (Sauber); 7. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes); 8. Mark Webber (Red Bull); 9. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India); 10. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes).

Last five winners at Hockenheim: 2012: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari); 2010: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari); 2008: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren); 2006: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari); 2005: Fernando Alonso (Renault).

Fernando Alonso: On pole in 2012

Tyre allocation

Pirelli will bring the yellow-marked soft and red-banded supersoft tyres to Hockenheim – the two softest compounds in their range.

“This year, the German Grand Prix is held at Hockenheim, which combines some fast straights with a slower and more technical stadium section that forms a significant part of the lap. To provide maximum performance, the soft and supersoft compounds will be in action once more, on a track that has generally low energy demands on the tyre.,” the Italian firm said.

Sky Bet odds

Lewis Hamilton is favourite for the German Grand Prix with Sky Bet following his British GP victory last time out. Check out the full range of odds here.

  • Share:


German GP 2014

Lewis Hamilton crashes out of qualifying

Brake failure cause revealed

Mercedes and Brembo say interaction between the brake material and braking mounting caused Hamilton's Germany crash.

Download the latest podcast

Sky F1 podcast: Germany

David Croft is joined by Ted Kravitz, Anthony Davidson, Natalie Pinkham and Simon Lazenby to look back at Hockenheim.

Brundle: F1 silences critics

Martin Brundle reviews the riveting action-packed German GP and considers how to improve the life of a referee in F1

Most Popular


Best pics of 2014

Best pics of 2014

A selection of the best images from the year so far as Formula 1 appears in its full pictorial glory.

The 2015 F1 calendar

The 2015 F1 calendar

The FIA confirm a 20-race schedule for next year as Mexico returns for the first time since 1992.

Who is Wehrlein?

Who is Wehrlein?

Introducing Mercedes' 19-year-old reserve driver Pascal Wehrlein who joins the team in Singapore.