Power unit elements used so far

A list for each driver updated race-by-race during 2014

By Sky Sports Online.   Last Updated: 26/09/14 4:04pm

  • Share:

Ahead of the Singapore GP, the drivers entered in the 2014 Formula 1 World Championship have used the number of power unit elements listed below:

A power unit comprises:

ICE - Internal Combustion Engine
TC - Turbo Charger
MGU-K Motor Generator Unit - Kinetic
MGU-H Motor Generator Unit - Heat
ES - Energy Store
CE - Control Electronics

No.  Car  Driver  ICE  TC  MGU-K  MGU-H  ES  CE  
01Red Bull Racing Renault  Sebastian Vettel544434
03Red Bull Racing RenaultDaniel Ricciardo444334
44MercedesLewis Hamilton444433
06MercedesNico Rosberg444433
14FerrariFernando Alonso543 445
07FerrariKimi Räikkönen543545
08Lotus RenaultRomain Grosjean454433
13Lotus RenaultPastor Maldonado  555544
22McLaren MercedesJenson Button444433
20McLaren MercedesKevin Magnussen444444
27Force India MercedesNico Hülkenberg444433
11Force India MercedesSergio Perez444433
99Sauber FerrariAdrian Sutil554544
21Sauber FerrariEsteban Gutierrez444435
25Toro Rosso RenaultJean-Eric Vergne445433
26Toro Rosso RenaultDaniil Kvyat645433
19Williams MercedesFelipe Massa444423
77Williams MercedesValtteri Bottas444444
17Marussia FerrariJules Bianchi554535
04Marussia FerrariMax Chilton554534
10Caterham RenaultKamui Kobayashi444434
09Caterham RenaultMarcus Ericsson44 3334

- Each driver may use no more than five power units per season.

- Each driver may therefore use no more than five of the above six elements (in any combination).

- If more than five power units are used then penalties are applied as follows:

- Replacement of a complete power unit means the driver must start the race from the pit lane.

- The first time a sixth element is used, the driver gets a ten-place grid penalty.

- The first time a sixth of the remaining elements is used, the driver gets a five-place grid penalty.

- The first time a seventh element is used, the driver gets a ten-place grid penalty.

- The first time a seventh of the remaining elements is used, the driver gets a five-place grid penalty, and so on.

  • Share:


F1 in 2014

Ecclestone rejoins F1 board

Bernie Ecclestone will continue as chief executive of the Formula 1 Group, the sport’s commercial rights holders CVC have announced.

'Monaco took it to next level'

Lewis Hamilton says Nico Rosberg took their rivalry “to another level” following what he still believes to have been deliberate mistake during qualifying in Monaco.

Lewis Hamilton after winning the British Grand Prix at Silverstone in July

Hamilton wins SPOTY award

Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton has been crowned the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award for 2014.

Most Popular


Jerez test preview

Jerez test preview

From the daily driver line-ups, to Sky F1's coverage, and crucial track facts, it's your essential Jerez guide.

The Lotus E23

The Lotus E23

Lotus target a big step forward in 2015 as they reveal the first look at their new car, the E23 Hybrid.

Sky F1's Jerez plans

Sky F1's Jerez plans

Live updates on SSNHQ, running commentary on Sky Sports Online, and two nightly shows on Sky F1!