F1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Abu Dhabi

  • Track Length 5.554 km
  • Lap Record 1:40.279
  • Laps 55

Last Race


  • 23/11/2014
  • 1st: Hamilton

Most wins


  • Sebastian Vettel

Official Site

Etihad Abu Dhabi Grand Prix website

Etihad Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Links

Pirelli reveal dates for 2014 in-season tests and team-by-team tyre test schedule

Each team has to give one day of testing over to Pirelli work

By James Galloway.   Last Updated: 07/03/14 6:48pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

Pirelli have confirmed the tyre test schedule F1's 11 teams in 2014, and in turn the dates for the return of in-season testing.

Aside from a single pre-European season session at Mugello two years ago, full track testing during the season had been banned in Formula 1 since 2009, but in a shake-up of the regulations for this year four additional two-day tests are being organised.

They will take place at a quartet of grand prix circuits on the Tuesday and Wednesday after their respective races with Pirelli confirming that Bahrain, Barcelona, Silverstone and Abu Dhabi have been selected to stage the events.

An additional requirement inserted into the regulations at the request of Pirelli is that each team have to devote one day of their eight days of running exclusively to testing Pirelli's tyres. The change has been made to avoid the pitfalls of 2013 when Pirelli experienced early-season problems with their tyres which culminated in the tyre explosions of the British GP.

After reaching agreement on the schedule with the teams at the recent Bahrain test, the Italian manufacturer has now confirmed the team-by-team schedule, with Caterham to test the latest developments first on Day One at the April 8-9 Bahrain test and Mercedes and Williams on Day Two.

At the fourth test of these tests in Abu Dhabi, on November 25-26, Pirelli will supply all teams with prototype tyres for 2015 to try.

2014 in-season testing dates and Pirelli tyre schedule

April 8-9: Bahrain test
Day One - Caterham.
Day Two - Mercedes and Williams.

May 13-14: Barcelona test
Day One - Sauber and Toro Rosso.
Day Two - McLaren and Force India.

July 8-9: Silverstone test
Day One - Ferrari and Lotus.
Day Two - Red Bull and Marussia.

November 25-26: Abu Dhabi test
All teams to test prototype 2015 tyres.

  • Share:


F1 in 2014

Ecclestone rejoins F1 board

Bernie Ecclestone will continue as chief executive of the Formula 1 Group, the sport’s commercial rights holders CVC have announced.

'Monaco took it to next level'

Lewis Hamilton says Nico Rosberg took their rivalry “to another level” following what he still believes to have been deliberate mistake during qualifying in Monaco.

Lewis Hamilton after winning the British Grand Prix at Silverstone in July

Hamilton wins SPOTY award

Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton has been crowned the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award for 2014.


Most Popular


Celebration pictures

Celebration pictures

The best of the pictures from Yas Marina as Lewis Hamilton celebrates his second world title.

The best man won

The best man won

Martin Brundle pays tribute to the new World Champion and looks back on a year of highs and deep lows in F1.

Ted's race notebook

Ted's race notebook

For the final time this year Ted Kravitz brings you all the news from the Yas Marina paddock.