Jenson Button has accepted a three-place grid penalty for the United States GP
McLaren driver overtook another car as P1 was red-flagged
By Mike Wise at the Circuit of The Americas. Last Updated: 18/11/13 4:38pm
Jenson Button says he can have no complaints after being handed a three-place grid penalty for the United States GP after overtaking under red flags during opening practice.
Stewards at the Circuit of The Americas, who include Nigel Mansell among their number, decided that the McLaren driver had committed the offence when passing the Toro Rosso of Daniil Kvyat after studying video evidence.
P1 had been red-flagged because the trackside medical helicopter developed a fault.
Button, who breached Appendix H, Article 22.214.171.124 (b)(3) of the FIA International Sporting Code, was second fastest to Fernando Alonso during the session.
Speaking to Sky Sports News after the end of Practice Two when he set the ninth-fastest time, Button admitted he couldn't argue with the penalty - even though he hadn't overtaken deliberately.
"The fact is that I overtook on a red flag which is obviously the wrong thing to do," the 2009 World Champion told Craig Slater.
"It wasn't a dangerous situation and to be fair I didn't do it on purpose, the guy slowed down. But the rules are the rules - I just wish we didn't have the red flag."
The Stewards, having received a report from the Race Director, heard from the driver and team representative, examined video evidence, have considered the following matter, and determine a breach of the regulations has been committed by the competitor named below and and impose the penalty referred to.
No/Driver 5-Jenson Button
Competitor Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
Session Practice 1
Fact Overtook a car under Red Flags.
Offence Breach of Appendix H, Article 126.96.36.199 (b)(3) of the FIA International Sporting Code.
Decision Drop of 3 grid positions.
Reason The driver overtook another car under Red Flags.