Chinese GP race result rewound after chequered flag is waved prematurely!

Luckless Kobayashi loses out on position to Bianchi

By Pete Gill.   Last Updated: 21/04/14 8:20am

  • Share:

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

Three hours after the chequered flag officially and unofficially fell in Shanghai, the Chinese GP has reached a bizarre end as the FIA declared the race finished two laps early.

As a result of the chequered flag being waved at race victor Lewis Hamilton prematurely at the end of the penultimate lap, prompting a bemused radio message to his Mercedes pitwall from the Englishman, the race has been officially deemed to have been completed on lap 54.

While Hamilton's victory still stands, the rewind means that the pass of Caterham's Kamui Kobayashi on Marussia rival Jules Bianchi for 17th has been wiped from the record books.

"I was thinking, 'Am I seeing things?' I was coming across the line expecting to do another lap and all of a sudden I looked up, saw the flag and I lifted for a second," Hamilton said afterwards.

"Then I saw there was no-one on the wall so I kept going. I did lose a second or so but when I asked the team, they said 'No' and I just kept going. It was very strange."

It's understood that the mistake happened when the clerk of the course unfurled the flag to test it.

While the revision is believed to be unprecedented in recent times, Article 43.2 of the Sporting Regulation does cover such an eventuality, stating: 'Should for any reason the end of race signal be given before the leading car completes the scheduled number of laps, or the prescribed time has been completed, the race will be deemed to have finished when the leading car last crossed the Line before the signal was given.'

All other positions are unaffected by the change.

Amended result
1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 1:36:52.810.
2. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, + 00:18.686.
3. Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, + 00:25.765.
4. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, + 00:26.978.
5. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, 00:51.012.
6. Nico Huelkenberg, Force India, + 00:57.581.
7. Valtteri Bottas, Williams, + 00:58.145.
8. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, + 01:23.990.
9. Sergio Perez, Force India, + 01:26.489.
10. Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso, 1 lap.
11. Jenson Button, McLaren, 1 lap.
12. Jean-Eric Vergne, Toro Rosso, 1 lap.
13. Kevin Magnussen, McLaren, 1 lap.
14. Pastor Maldonado, Lotus, 1 lap.
15. Felipe Massa, Williams, 1 lap.
16. Esteban Gutierrez, Sauber, 1 lap.
17. Jules Bianchi, Marussia, 1 lap.
18. Kamui Kobayashi, Caterham, 1 lap.
19. Max Chilton, Marussia, 2 laps.
20. Marcus Ericsson, Caterham, 2 laps.
21. Romain Grosjean, Lotus, 28 laps.
22. Adrian Sutil, Sauber, 51 laps.

  • Share:


Chinese GP 2014

Hamilton credits crew and car

Lewis Hamilton has paid tribute to the crew of Mercedes engineers who have laid the foundations for his start to 2014.

Chinese GP analysis

Chinese GP analysis: Did Vettel cost Ricciardo a podium? And how bad were Raikkonen's troubles?

Reflecting on Shanghai

Sky Sports F1's Martin Brundle looks back on the Chinese GP and what it told us about some of the sport's leading men...


Most Popular


Budget cuts ahead?

Budget cuts ahead?

Governing body says teams' financial difficulties raises 'question about the economic balance' of F1 .

Remembering Sir Jack

Remembering Sir Jack

Friends and family gather to remember the life and achievements of one of Formula 1's all-time greats.

No place for minnows

No place for minnows

Ex-Caterham boss Tony Fernandes says spending needs cut and big teams should take the blame.