Who wants what number: The drivers make their selections for the 2014 season

Button, Ricciardo and Magnussen the latest to make their choices

By Sky Sports Online.   Last Updated: 10/01/14 2:36pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

Jenson Button and Daniel Ricciardo have become the latest F1 drivers to reveal which numbers their cars will carry in 2014, with the former World Champion selecting the one from his title-winning year.

In an unexpected development ahead of the new season, the FIA, motorsport's governing body, announced in December that F1 will introduce permanent driver numbers from 2014 onwards.

While the number one badge will be reserved for the World Champion, should he choose to use it, the rest of the field have been asked to select a number of their preference between two and 99.

At present, a handful of drivers have revealed their selection, with McLaren driver Button deciding to select 22 - the car number his Brawn GP car carried en-route to winning the 2009 Drivers' Championship.

Coincidentally, the Briton's former team-mate Lewis Hamilton, who has yet to reveal his number choice, also carried the same number in his own championship year.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso will carry number 14 having ran with the number during his days as a junior karter.

New Red Bull signing Daniel Ricciardo, meanwhile has selected 3, Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg has requested 6 as his first choice, Williams new boy Felipe Massa has opted for 19, and Jules Bianchi of Marussia has identified 7, 27 and 77 as his preferences.

It would appear, however, that 77 is proving a popular choice, with Williams youngster Valtteri Bottas also identifying the number as his first selection.

In the circumstances of two different drivers identifying the same number as their preference, the driver who finished highest in the previous year's World Championship would be given first choice - i.e., in this case, Bottas would be invited to pick 77 ahead of Bianchi.

McLaren rookie Kevin Magnussen has requested 20 for his McLaren car in 2014 on the basis that it is the number he used last year whilst winning the Formula Renault 3.5 championship.

Driver number choices:

Red Bull
Sebastian Vettel: Yet to be announced.
Daniel Ricciardo: 3.

Lewis Hamilton: Yet to be announced.
Nico Rosberg: 6, 5 or 9.

Fernando Alonso: 14.
Kimi Raikkonen: 7.

Romain Grosjean: 8, 29 or 11.
Pastor Maldonado: Yet to be announced.

Jenson Button: 22.
Kevin Magnussen: 20.

Force India
Sergio Perez: 11.
Nico Hulkenberg: Yet to be announced.

Adrian Sutil: Yet to be announced.
Esteban Gutierrez: Yet to be announced.

Toro Rosso
Jean-Eric Vergne: 25, 21 or 27.
Daniil Kvyat: Yet to be announced.

Felipe Massa: 19.
Valtteri Bottas: 77, 17 or 11.

Jules Bianchi: 7, 27 or 77.
Driver still to be confirmed.

Driver still to be confirmed.
Driver still to be confirmed.

  • Share:


F1 in 2014

Dennis: McLaren are back

A bullish Ron Dennis has declared that “McLaren are back” as Segafredo Zanetti returns as a sponsor.

Marco Mattiacci in conversation with Fernando Alonso

Mattiacci sets three-year plan

Team boss Marco Mattiacci has set the goal of returning Ferrari to world title-winning ways within three years.

Lewis Hamilton: With it all to do again in the title chase

Hamilton rules out revenge

Lewis Hamilton "doesn't know" how he will get back on terms with Rosberg but won't "take anything into my own hands".


Most Popular


The best pics of 2014

The best pics of 2014

A selection of the best images from the year so far as Formula 1 appears in its full pictorial glory.

The 2015 F1 calendar

The 2015 F1 calendar

The FIA confirm a 20-race schedule for next year as Mexico returns for the first time since 1992.

Who is Wehrlein?

Who is Wehrlein?

Introducing Mercedes' 19-year-old reserve driver Pascal Wehrlein who joins the team in Singapore.