Bahrain International Circuit confirms plan for floodlights to be used in 2014

Lighting system installed in time for tenth anniversary race

By Mike Wise.   Last Updated: 29/11/13 1:36pm

  • Share:
Bahrain GP: Set to become a night race

Bahrain GP: Set to become a night race

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

Next year's Bahrain Grand Prix will take place under floodlights for the first time, it was reported on Friday.

The Bahrain International Circuit is trialling newly-installed floodlights at this weekend's round of the World Endurance Championship and the track's Chief Executive, Sheikh Salman bin Isa Al-Khalifa, has now confirmed that Formula 1 is set to follow suit on what will be the race's tenth anniversary.

"This is by far the biggest development project we have ever undertaken at the BIC since the circuit was first built," al-Khalifa was quoted as saying by Reuters.

"I believe that there can be no better way for us to mark our 10th anniversary in F1 by demonstrating our long term commitment to the sport through this significant investment."

A spokesman also confirmed that the Bahrain GP will start after sunset. At present, the Singapore GP is the only full night race on the calendar with the Abu Dhabi GP held during twilight hours.

The Bahrain GP has been scheduled to take place on 6th April 2014 in a draft calendar published by the FIA in September. The governing body is set to reveal its final calendar next week.

Sky Sports F1's Anthony Davidson is contesting this weekend's 6 Hours of Bahrain for Toyota and two days ago he tweeted a photo of the floodlights.

  • Share:


F1 in 2014

Ferrari mechanic with Pirelli tyres

Pirelli reveal next selections

The soft tyre will be used at next month's Belgian GP, Pirelli has revealed, as it confirms next round of tyre choices.

Top ten moments of 2014 so far

From on-track battles to off-track funnies, the standout moments from the first half of the campaign.

Eric Boullier: Thinks some teams have developed 'extreme' FRIC suspensions

'FRIC extremes led to action'

McLaren's Eric Boullier thinks "extreme" FRIC suspension systems have led to the FIA's decision to declare them illegal.

Most Popular


Welcome to Hungary!

Welcome to Hungary!

Natalie Pinkham and Martin Brundle sample some rather unique seats to preview the weekend.

F1 Midweek Report

F1 Midweek Report

Watch the post-Germany show as Anna Woolhouse is joined by David Brabham and Peter Windsor.

Hungary preview

Hungary preview

From the drivers' form guide to the Sky F1 TV times, it's everything you need to know about the Hungarian GP.