Lewis stars on opening night

Defending champion heads the first-night action

Last Updated: 02/12/11 11:58am

  • Share:
Adrian Lewis: Plays on the opening night

Adrian Lewis: Plays on the opening night

Sky Bet

The schedule of play for the 2012 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship has been confirmed.

The £1 million tournament - screened live on Sky Sports HD - will begin on Thursday December 15 at Alexandra Palace in London, with reigning champion Adrian Lewis taking on Nigel Heydon amongst one of five matches to be played on the opening night.

Phil Taylor, the 15-time World Champion and number one seed, will play the winner of the preliminary round clash between Japan's Haruki Muramatsu or Sweden's Dennis Nilsson on Friday December 16, while Saturday's play sees two sessions take place at Alexandra Palace.

Weekend games

Five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld is in action against debutant James Richardson on Sunday December 18, while number three seed James Wade begins his challenge on Monday December 19.

Gary Anderson, last year's World Championship runner-up, meets Germany's Jyhan Artut, while the preliminary and first rounds conclude on Wednesday December 21 with three-time World Champion John Part and 2010 finalist Simon Whitlock in action.

The second round is played either side of the Christmas break, with the third round and quarter-finals also being played before a break on New Year's Eve.

The semi-finals will then be held on New Year's Day, with the final being held at 8pm on Monday January 2 - with both the semi-finals and final being shown live on Sky 3D.

  • Share: