72 line up at Ally Pally

Get set for the sport's first £1m tournament

Last Updated: 14/12/09 5:52pm

  • Share:
Defending champion Phil Taylor

Defending champion Phil Taylor

Sky Bet

The field for the 2010 Ladbrokes.com World Darts Championship has been confirmed, with players from a record 25 countries competing for £1 million in prize money at Alexandra Palace from December 18-January 3.

Watch the Ladbrokes.com World Darts Championship live on Sky Sports from December 18-January 3

The world's biggest darts tournament, shown live on Sky Sports, will see 72 players battling for the record £200,000 first prize in the sport's first £1 million event.

With a field featuring qualifiers from Gibraltar, Poland, Slovenia and Sweden for the first time, three more nations will be represented at Alexandra Palace than a year ago.

In total, 16 players will compete in the preliminary round in a bid to join the other 56 in the first round proper, with the opening stages held from December 18-23.

The second and third rounds will be held from December 27-30, before the quarter-finals and semi-finals take place on January 1/2, with the final and third-fourth place play-off on Sunday January 3.

The top 32 players from the PDC Order of Merit qualify by right and are seeded in the first round draw, where they come up against the qualifiers from the Players Championship Order of Merit, European Order of Merit, North American Order of Merit and the preliminary round winners.

Phil Taylor, the defending and 14-time World Champion, will be the number one seed for the tournament, with five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld seeded two, James Wade three and three-time World Champion John Part seeded fourth.

Mervyn King becomes the number five seed, after jumping above Terry Jenkins in the Order of Merit by reaching the final of the German Darts Championship on Sunday.

Roland Scholten holds on to 32nd place in the Order of Merit, ahead of Barrie Bates, Gary Anderson and Paul Nicholson, who all qualify via the Players Championship Order of Merit.


Gibraltar's Dylan Duo and Germany's Jyhan Artut will make their World Championship debuts after winning qualification via the European Order of Merit, alongside Andree Welge and Mensur Suljovic.

Australian Simon Whitlock bridges a seven-year gap from competing in the PDC World Championship, having reached the last 16 at the 2003 event and returning to the DartPlayers Australia circuit to great success this year.

Poland's Krzysztof Kciuk, Sweden's Magnus Caris and Slovenian Osmann Kijamet will become their country's first representative in the Ladbrokes.com World Darts Championship.

Moscow's Roman Konchikov, 22, defeated Anastasia Dobromyslova on Saturday in the final of the Russian Qualifier to win his place in the tournament.

The full draw for the Ladbrokes.com World Darts Championship First Round will be made on Monday December 7, and will be shown live on Sky Sports News at 2.30pm.

PDC Order of Merit Qualifiers

1 Phil Taylor (England)
2 Raymond van Barneveld (Netherlands)
3 James Wade (England)
4 John Part (Canada)
5 Mervyn King (England)
6 Terry Jenkins (England)
7 Ronnie Baxter (England)
8 Adrian Lewis (England)
9 Dennis Priestley (England)
10 Colin Lloyd (England)
11 Colin Osborne (England)
12 Alan Tabern (England)
13 Mark Walsh (England)
14 Andy Hamilton (England)
15 Kevin Painter (England)
16 Robert Thornton (Scotland)
17 Wayne Mardle (England)
18 Vincent van der Voort
19 Steve Beaton (England)
20 Peter Manley (England)
21 Mark Dudbridge (England)
22 Wayne Jones (England)
23 Denis Ovens (England)
24 Jelle Klaasen (Netherlands)
25 Wes Newton (England)
26 Jamie Caven (England)
27 Andy Smith (England)
28 Co Stompe (Netherlands)
29 Kirk Shepherd (England)
30 Michael van Gerwen (Netherlands)
31 Tony Eccles (England)
32 Roland Scholten (Netherlands)

Players Championship Qualifiers

1 Gary Anderson (Scotland)
2 Paul Nicholson (Australia)
3 Andy Jenkins (England)
4 Peter Wright (Scotland)
5 Brendan Dolan (Northern Ireland)
6 Steve Hine (England)
7 Kevin McDine (England)
8 Steve Brown (England)
9 Matt Clark (England)
10 Colin Monk (England)
11 Mark Webster (Wales)
12 Steve Maish (England)
13 Barrie Bates (Wales)
14 Toon Greebe (Netherlands)
15 Alex Roy (England)
16 Carlos Rodriguez (Spain)

European Order of Merit Qualifiers

1 Andree Welge (Germany)
2 Mensur Suljovic (Austria)
3 Dylan Duo (Gibraltar)
4 Jyhan Artut (Germany)

North American Order of Merit Qualifiers

1 Darin Young (USA)
2 Scott Burnett (USA)
3 Ken MacNeil (Canada)

International Qualifiers

Simon Whitlock (Australia) - DPA Australian Grand Prix Champion
Phillip Hazel (New Zealand) - New Zealand Champion
Aodhagan O'Neill (Ireland) - Irish Matchplay Champion
Les Francis (South Africa) - PDC South African Open Champion
Francisco Ruiz (Spain) - Spanish National Champion
Warren Parry (New Zealand) - Oceanic Masters Champion
Haruki Muramatsu (Japan) - Japanese Champion
Osmann Kijamet (Slovenia) - Eastern European Champion
Norman Madhoo (Guyana) - Caribbean & South American Masters Champion
Christian Perez (Philippines) - Philippines Champion
Jarkko Komula (Finland) - Finnish Pro-Darts Champion
Magnus Caris (Sweden) - Swedish National Champion
Tomas Seyler (Germany) - German National Champion
Per Laursen (Denmark) - Danish Series Champion
Krzysztof Kciuk (Poland) - Polish National Champion
Roman Konchikov (Russia) - Russian National Champion
Plus Chinese National Champion

Preliminary Round Draw

Per Laursen (Denmark) v Christian Perez (Philippines)
Ken MacNeil (Canada) v Norman Madhoo (Guyana)
Jarkko Komula (Finland) v Roman Konchikov (Russia)
Haruki Muramatsu (Japan) v Krzysztof Kciuk (Poland)
Tomas Seyler (Germany) v Chinese Qualifier
Magnus Caris (Sweden) v Francisco Ruiz (Spain)
Aodhagan O'Neill (Ireland) v Les Francis (South Africa)
Phillip Hazel (New Zealand) v Osmann Kijamet (Slovenia)

  • Share:

Most Popular


Perfect 10 for Lewis?

Perfect 10 for Lewis?

The Sky Sports experts are divided over whether Adrian Lewis can realise his dream of 10 world titles.

Lewis 5/1 for treble

Lewis 5/1 for treble

Adrian Lewis is 5/1 with Sky Bet to retain his PDC World Darts Championship in 2013.

Video highlights

Video highlights

Sky Sports subscribers can sign in to watch highlights of the action from the World Championship.