Premier League darts: Judgement Night fixtures set for Cardiff

By Paul Higham Twitter: @SkySportsPaulH.   Last Updated: 31/03/14 11:44am

  • Share:
Wes Newton and Dave Chisnall go head-to-head in Cardiff

Wes Newton and Dave Chisnall go head-to-head in Cardiff

Sky Bet

The playing order has been revised for what should be a thrilling night of darts in Cardiff on Thursday as the Premier League reaches 'Judgement Night'.

Australian Simon Whitlock's relegation from the ten-man Betway Premier League was confirmed last week in Dublin, and now just one place remains for the dreaded drop.

Phil Taylor looked for a long time like a shock relegation candidate, but he has turned things around in recent weeks and now three men have the spectre of relegation hanging over them heading to Wales.

Wes Newton, Dave Chisnall and Robert Thornton could all see their Premier League season end prematurely in the Welsh capital on Thursday, and Week Nine's line-up ensures it will be a thrilling end to the night.

All three men are locked together on six points and the fixtures for Cardiff sees Chisnall and Newton going head-to-head in the penultimate clash of the night.

The winner will be safe, but even a draw could be enough for both men as Thornton then takes on 16-time world champion Taylor in the closing match of the evening.

Although all eyes will be on the relegation battle, further up the table the jockeying for position in the top four has already begun, and league leader Michael van Gerwen will fancy his chances of stretching his advantage as he faces relegated Whitlock.

Peter Wright lost his unbeaten record to van Gerwen but will look to bounce back against Gary Anderson, while Adrian Lewis faces Raymond van Barneveld.

The Premier League darts reaches 'Judgement Night' on Thursday when two players will be relegated, watch the action from Cardiff live on Sky Sports 1 from 7pm.

  • Share:


Premier League Darts 2014

Raymond van Barneveld: Celebrates winning the Premier League Darts

Barney bags Premier title

Raymond van Barneveld won a first Premier League darts title with a brilliant victory over Michael van Gerwen at The O2.

Barney through after thriller with Taylor

Barney beats Taylor at last

Raymond van Barneveld beat Phil Taylor for the first time in the Premier League to set up a final showdown against Michael van Gerwen.

MVG defeats Anderson to progress

MVG defeats Anderson

2013 Premier League Champion Michael van Gerwen beat Gary Anderson 8-7 to progress to the final at the 02 arena.

Most Popular


As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.

World Matchplay pics

World Matchplay pics

Take a look at some of our favourite images from the final weekend of the Matchplay in Blackpool.