German Darts Championship: Van Barneveld stuns Lewis

Last Updated: 02/02/14 11:58pm

  • Share:
Raymond van Barneveld: Won six straight legs

Raymond van Barneveld: Won six straight legs

Sky Bet

Raymond van Barneveld staged a superb fightback to reach the quarter-finals of the German Darts Championship with a 6-2 win over Adrian Lewis.

The Dutchman hit back from losing the opening two legs to reel off six in a row, while world champion Michael van Gerwen scraped into the last eight after edging Terry Jenkins 6-5.

Lewis made a brilliant start against Van Barneveld, taking out 76 before breaking throw with a 12-dart leg.

But Barney broke straight back and levelled with a classy 11-darter before legs of 13 and 14 darts took him 4-2 ahead.

He added two 140s and hit double seven for a three-leg cushion, and his fifth 180 set up double 10 for the win as he posted an impressive average of 102.35.

"In the first two legs Adrian was brilliant and he deserved to be 2-0 up, but the third leg was crucial and after that I played some magnificent darts," said Van Barneveld.

Barney now plays Ronnie Baxter, who reached his first European Tour quarter-final with a tense 6-5 win over fellow Englishman Mervyn King.

Van Gerwen set up a quarter-final clash with Dutch compatriot Jelle Klaasen after a titanic battle with Jenkins, who missed a dart at double 15 for a 110 checkout in the deciding leg.

Former Lakeside world champion Klaasen saw off Wes Newton 6-4, while veteran Canadian John Part was in clinical form as he cruised to a 6-2 victory over Kim Huybrechts.

Part will take on Justin Pipe, a 6-4 winner over Paul Nicholson, while in-form Gary Anderson took out a 161 finish on his way to a 6-4 victory against Wayne Jones.

The Scot will meet Ian White, who continued his impressive recent run with a 104.30 average in his 6-3 win over Robert Thornton.

Third round results:

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Terry Jenkins

Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Wes Newton

Kim Huybrechts 2-6 John Part

Justin Pipe 6-4 Paul Nicholson

Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Adrian Lewis

Ronnie Baxter 6-5 Mervyn King

Robert Thornton 3-6 Ian White

Wayne Jones 4-6 Gary Anderson

Second round results:

Ian White 6-5 Dean Winstanley

Gary Anderson 6-0 Glenn Spearing

Robert Thornton 6-3 Andy Hamilton

Mervyn King 6-0 Lee Palfreyman

Jamie Caven 4-6 Ronnie Baxter

Dave Chisnall 2-6 Raymond van Barneveld

Steve Beaton 4-6 Jelle Klaasen

John Part 6-2 Dick van Dijk

Brendan Dolan 2-6 Justin Pipe

Wes Newton 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Michael Smith

Adrian Lewis 6-3 Joey Palfreyman

Peter Wright 4-6 Wayne Jones

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Leon De Geus

Kevin Painter 3-6 Terry Jenkins

Paul Nicholson 6-5 Stuart Kellett

  • Share:

Most Popular


Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.