Premier League Darts: First fixtures announced for new season on Sky Sports

Last Updated: 14/01/14 4:32pm

  • Share:
Michael van Gerwen wins the 2013 Premier League

Michael van Gerwen wins the 2013 Premier League

Sky Bet

The first nine weeks of the 2014 Premier League Darts fixtures have been confirmed, with the opening night in Liverpool on February 6 featuring a rematch of last year's final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen.

The Echo Arena on the banks of the River Mersey in Liverpool will play host to the opening night of the action, with ten players again battling it out for the coveted title.

The first nine league nights will see the ten players face each other once each before the bottom two players are eliminated following "Judgement Night" in Cardiff.

The remaining eight players will then meet once more in the final six weeks, before the top four progress to compete in the Play-Offs at The O2 in London on Thursday May 22.

New world champion van Gerwen and Stoke legend Taylor, a six-time Premier League winner, headline the opening five fixtures, with debutant Dave Chisnall from nearby St Helens playing former UK Open champion Robert Thornton.

The Premier League's other newcomer, World Championship finalist Peter Wright, takes on Wes Newton while 2011 champion Gary Anderson plays Raymond van Barneveld and former finalists Simon Whitlock and Adrian Lewis conclude the opening night.

The Premier League then moves to Bournemouth, Belfast, Glasgow, Exeter, Nottingham, Leeds and Dublin before Judgement Night on week nine in Cardiff, which sees van Gerwen taking on Whitlock, Taylor playing Thornton, Lewis meeting van Barneveld, Newton facing Chisnall and Anderson's all-Scottish clash with Wright.

The fixtures for Weeks Ten-15 will be confirmed following Judgement Night, when the bottom two players in the Premier League Darts table are eliminated.

Premier League Darts Fixtures:

Week 1 - Feb 6, Liverpool: Chisnall v Thornton, Wright v Newton, van Barneveld v Anderson, Taylor v van Gerwen, Whitlock v Lewis.

Week 2 - Feb 13,Bournemouth: Newton v van Barneveld, Chisnall v Wright, Anderson v Whitlock, Lewis v Taylor, Thornton v Michael van Gerwen.

Week 3 - Feb 20, Belfast: Thornton v Anderson, Chisnall v van Gerwen, Wright v Taylor, Newton v Lewis, van Barneveld v Whitlock.

Week 4 - Feb 27, Glasgow: Wright v Lewis, Thornton v Newton, Whitlock v Taylor, van Gerwen v van Barneveld, Chisnall v Anderson.

Week 5 - March 6, Exeter: Wright v Thornton, van Barneveld v Chisnall, Lewis v van Gerwen, Taylor v Anderson, Newton v Whitlock.

Week 6 - March 13, Nottingham: Whitlock v Wright, Lewis v Anderson, van Gerwen v Newton, van Barneveld v Thornton, Taylor v Chisnall.

Week 7 - March 20, Leeds: Chisnall v Whitlock, Thornton v Lewis, Anderson v van Gerwen, Newton v Taylor, Wright v van Barneveld.

Week 8 - March 27, Dublin: Anderson v Newton, Whitlock v Thornton, Lewis v Chisnall, van Gerwen v Wright, Taylor v van Barneveld.

Week 9 - April 3, Cardiff: Lewis v van Barneveld, Taylor v Thornton, Newton v Chisnall, Anderson v Wright, van Gerwen v Whitlock.

Once again you can watch every dart of the 2014 Premier League Darts live only on Sky Sports.

  • Share:


Premier League Darts 2014

Raymond van Barneveld: Celebrates winning the Premier League Darts

Barney bags Premier title

Raymond van Barneveld won a first Premier League darts title with a brilliant victory over Michael van Gerwen at The O2.

Barney through after thriller with Taylor

Barney beats Taylor at last

Raymond van Barneveld beat Phil Taylor for the first time in the Premier League to set up a final showdown against Michael van Gerwen.

MVG defeats Anderson to progress

MVG defeats Anderson

2013 Premier League Champion Michael van Gerwen beat Gary Anderson 8-7 to progress to the final at the 02 arena.

Most Popular


Grand Slam of Darts

Grand Slam of Darts

Find out how you can watch all the action from the Grand Slam of Darts this November with Sky Sports.

Grand Prix gallery

Grand Prix gallery

A look at the best pictures from the World Grand Prix in Dublin where Michael van Gerwen was victorious.

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Twitter

Follow @SkySportsDarts on Twitter for all the latest news, views and opinion from the world of darts.