Premier League Darts: Thrilling line-up announced for Sky Live action in 2014

Last Updated: 09/01/14 11:08pm

  • Share:

Barry Hearn confirms the line up for the 2014 Premier League darts.

Sky Bet

World Darts runner-up Peter Wright and Dave Chisnall will make their debuts in Premier League Darts in 2014 after being confirmed amongst the ten-player field.

Scottish-born Wright has been rewarded for his success in reaching the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship final with his first appearance in darts' roadshow tournament.

Chisnall, meanwhile, has risen into the world's top five, which has included a run to the World Grand Prix final, a European Tour win and two Players Championship victories, with his debut in Premier League Darts.

New World champion Michael van Gerwen, who won the Premier League Darts title in his debut season in 2013, will defend his title this season alongside six-time champion Phil Taylor and 2011 winner Gary Anderson, who is one of the Sky Sports Wildcards in the event.

"The Premier League Darts has always guaranteed excitement, shocks and world-class darts, and this line-up of ten players is sure to provide that by the bucket-load!"
Barry Hearn

Former Premier League Darts finalists Adrian Lewis and Simon Whitlock are joined by Raymond van Barneveld, a six-time semi-finalist in the tournament, while Robert Thornton and Wes Newton retain their places after making their Premier League Darts debuts in 2013.

"This is a fantastic line-up for the 2014 Premier League Darts and I congratulate Peter Wright and Dave Chisnall on their selection, which is fully deserved after their brilliant years," said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.

"The Premier League Darts has always guaranteed excitement, shocks and world-class darts, and this line-up of ten players is sure to provide that by the bucket-load!

"We'll be welcoming record crowds for the Premier League Darts and also visiting the SSE Hydro in Glasgow and Leeds' First Direct Arena for the first time in what promises to be a memorable four months."


Hearn added: "There is always going to be debate and discussion over which players are included but the Wildcards chosen both by ourselves and Sky Sports provide a great mix of quality, experience and personalities.

"Many more players came into consideration due to the incredibly high standard now on the PDC circuit, particularly Andy Hamilton and Kim Huybrechts, as well as James Wade.

"James has enjoyed six great years in Premier League Darts and was a worthy champion in 2009, however this year we believe that he would benefit from a break from the pressures and travel of competing in the tournament to continue his treatment for his well-documented health issues."

The 16-week Premier League Darts campaign initially sees the ten players play each other once, before the bottom two are relegated after Judgement Night on week nine.

The remaining eight players will then meet once more over the next six weeks before the top four players progress to the Play-Offs at The O2 in London on Thursday May 22.

2014 Premier League Darts Competitors

Phil Taylor - 16-time World Champion

Michael van Gerwen - Reigning Premier League Darts Champion

Simon Whitlock - 2012 European Champion

Adrian Lewis - 2011 & 2012 World Champion

Dave Chisnall - 2013 World Grand Prix Runner-Up

Peter Wright - 2014 World Championship Finalist

Wes Newton - Two-time Major Finalist

Robert Thornton - 2012 UK Open Champion

Raymond van Barneveld - Five-Time World Champion

Gary Anderson - 2011 Premier League Darts Champion

2014 Premier League Darts - Dates & Venue

Night One February 6 Echo Arena, Liverpool

Night Two February 13 BIC, Bournemouth

Night Three February 20 Odyssey Arena, Belfast

Night Four February 27 SSE Hydro, Glasgow

Night Five March 6 Westpoint Arena, Exeter

Night Six March 13 Capital FM Arena, Nottingham

Night Seven March 20 First Direct Arena, Leeds

Night Eight March 27 The O2, Dublin

Night Nine April 3 Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff

Night Ten April 10 Motorpoint Arena, Sheffield

Night 11 April 17 GE Oil & Gas Arena, Aberdeen

Night 12 April 24 Phones 4u Arena, Manchester

Night 13 May 1 NIA, Birmingham

Night 14 May 8 Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle

Night 15 May 15 The Brighton Centre

Play-Offs May 22 The O2, London

  • Share:


Premier League Darts 2014

Raymond van Barneveld: Celebrates winning the Premier League Darts

Barney bags Premier title

Raymond van Barneveld won a first Premier League darts title with a brilliant victory over Michael van Gerwen at The O2.

Barney through after thriller with Taylor

Barney beats Taylor at last

Raymond van Barneveld beat Phil Taylor for the first time in the Premier League to set up a final showdown against Michael van Gerwen.

MVG defeats Anderson to progress

MVG defeats Anderson

2013 Premier League Champion Michael van Gerwen beat Gary Anderson 8-7 to progress to the final at the 02 arena.

Most Popular


Grand Slam of Darts

Grand Slam of Darts

Find out how you can watch all the action from the Grand Slam of Darts this November with Sky Sports.

Grand Prix gallery

Grand Prix gallery

A look at the best pictures from the World Grand Prix in Dublin where Michael van Gerwen was victorious.

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Twitter

Follow @SkySportsDarts on Twitter for all the latest news, views and opinion from the world of darts.