Darts: Phil Taylor to face Rob Szabo or Ian Moss in first round of World Championship

Last Updated: 03/12/13 11:05am

  • Share:

Sky Bet

Reigning champion Phil Taylor will face Rob Szabo or Ian Moss in the first round of the 2014 World Darts Championship.

Top-seed Taylor will be aiming for a 17th World crown when the tournament gets under way at Alexandra Palace on 13 December.

Last year's beaten semi-finalist, Dutchman Michael van Gerwen, who is seeded second, will play either Zoran Lerchbacher or Ben Ward.

In other ties, third seed Adrian Lewis plays Dennis Smith, Simon Whitlock takes on Ross Smith and Raymond van Barneveld faces Jamie Lewis.

Sibling rivalry

Belgian brothers Kim and Ronny Huybrechts will compete against each other for a place in the second round.

The two also met in the last 16 of the Grand Slam of Darts in November, with younger sibling Kim winning 10-5.

In last year's final, Taylor recovered from 0-2 and 2-4 down before beating Van Gerwen 7-4 and he is expecting an equally tough challenge this time around.

Speaking to Sky Sports News he said: "I know Ian quite well. He is a good player who has done really well to get here as he has come through a field of 200 qualifiers to reach this stage. The other fellow, I don't know.

"There are a lot of people who can win this year. Young Adrian (Lewis) is going to be up for this and he'll be ready.

"That said, his first-round opponent Denis Smith is a very steady, very deliberate thrower who you can't make go quicker or slower so that's a bit of a toughie for him to start with.

"But there are so many good players around now and if you are slack you will get beat... simple as."


Van Gerwen will have to wait to see who he faces, but whether it is Austrian Lerchbacher or Englishman Ward, he says he will be focused.

"The first guy (Lerchbacher), I have never heard of him. He is an overseas qualifier. Ben Ward, he is a youth player, and has come through the rankings I think," he said. "You don't do that for nothing so I have to be aware of that and be sharp.

"You need to play the board not the opponent. You just need to win the game. I have a lot more experience but you still have to show it on the day."

The Dutchman does not foresee Taylor having any problems with his first-round opponent.

"He (Taylor) will be quite happy with that," added Van Gerwen. "He won't know them both but Phil won't make a mistake, trust me."

World Championship Draw:

Michael Smith v Hashimoto/Lim

Justin Pipe v Arron Monk

Adrian Lewis v Dennis Smith

Mark Webster v Mensur Suljovic

Paul Nicholson v Stuart Kellett

Richie Burnett v Dean Winstanley

Ronnie Baxter v Ricky Evans

Ian White v Kyle Anderson

Colin Lloyd v Beau Anderson

Kim Huybrechts v Ronny Huybrechts

Peter Wright v Joe Cullen

Andy Hamilton v Barbero/Welge

Robert Thornton v Max Hopp

Jamie Caven v Jelle Klaasen

Steve Beaton v Petersen/Sapup

Wayne Jones v Kevin McDine

Gary Anderson v Mark Dudbridge

Kevin Painter v Tomas Seyler

Mark Walsh v Jarkko Komula

John Part v Mareno Michels

Brendan Dolan v Lindskjold/Santos

Raymond van Barneveld v Jamie Lewis

Mervyn King v Darin Young

Vincent van der Voort v Matt Clark

Wes Newton v Vos/Lam

Phil Taylor v Szabo/Moss

Andy Smith v Steve Brown

Simon Whitlock v Ross Smith

Dave Chisnall v John Henderson

James Wade v Darren Webster

Michael van Gerwen v Lerchbacher/Ward

Terry Jenkins v McGarry/Laursen

  • Share:


PDC World Darts Championship 2014

Michael van Gerwen: PDC's player of the year

Van Gerwen tops in PDC vote

Michael van Gerwen scooped an awards treble as he was named as the PDC player of the year at The Dorchester on Monday.

The now famous walk-on girls are always a fans favourite at at Alexandra Palace

Best of the darts

Check out the best pictures from the darts at Ally Pally, can you spot yourself in the crowd?

Michael Van Gerwen crowned world champion

World darts review

We take a look back at the pick of the action, and major talking points, from the World Darts Championship.

Most Popular


Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.