Grand Slam of Darts: Raymond van Barneveld beats Tony O'Shea in thriller

Last Updated: 10/11/13 8:05pm

  • Share:
Raymond van Barneveld: The reigning champion edged out Tony O'Shea

Raymond van Barneveld: The reigning champion edged out Tony O'Shea

Sky Bet

Reigning champion Raymond van Barneveld edged out Tony O'Shea 5-4 to pick up his second successive Group E victory in the William Hill Grand Slam of Darts.

After trailing 2-0 early on at Wolves Civic, Stockport's O'Shea hit back to lead 3-2, but the Dutchman soon levelled as the pair headed to a deciding leg, which the van Barneveld won with a 72 finish.

There were also wins for Simon Whitlock, Mervyn King, Scott Waites, Ted Hankey and Robert Thornton, who maintained his 100 per cent record in the tournament.

King's high-quality 5-2 win over Ricky Evans in the day's other Group E game means that there is still all to play for going into Monday's final matches.

Van Barneveld would qualify with a win over King, with O'Shea and Evans also still able to win through to the knockout stage of the event in the final set of games.

Groups E-H Second Games:

Mervyn King 5-2 Ricky Evans (E)
Andy Hamilton 5-1 Mark Walsh (F)
Wes Newton 5-2 Ross Smith (G)
Dave Chisnall 3-5 Ted Hankey (H)
Robert Thornton 5-2 Justin Pipe (F)
Scott Waites 5-2 Michael Smith (H)
Raymond van Barneveld 5-4 Tony O'Shea (E)
Simon Whitlock 5-1 Mark Webster (G)

"I like the group format of this competition and the two wins have helped build my confidence," said van Barneveld. "I hope it will set me up well for the rest of the week.

"I don't ever make it easy for myself, but I managed to produce good finishes towards the end and get the win."

Australian star Whitlock won his second match in Group G in impressive style, averaging 108.78 in a 5-1 victory against Mark Webster, hitting four 180s and missing only one dart at a double.

He is now in pole position ahead of Monday's final game with Wes Newton, who was a 5-2 winner against Ross Smith as he joined Webster on two points.

Waites, the 2010 Grand Slam of Darts champion, became the first player to win through to the second round with a fine 5-2 victory over Michael Smith in Group H, as Hankey kick-started his challenge.

Hankey eliminated Dave Chisnall after producing a fine display to come from 3-1 down to claim a fine 5-3 triumph from their contest.

"I felt pretty decent and it went well for me," said Hankey. "I fed off the crowd and it helped me, I played my natural darts and the 170 was as sweet as a nut.

"I've had my health problems and I've been on the mend, and I know that when I can play I'm as good as anybody and I can do anything."

Scotsman Thornton followed up Saturday's whitewash of Mark Walsh with a 5-2 win over Justin Pipe, taking out a key 152 checkout in the victory.

Groups A-D play their second games at the Wolves Civic on Sunday night, including four-time champion Phil Taylor up against Paul Nicholson, Michael van Gerwen's clash with Dean Winstanley and Adrian Lewis up against Ronny Huybrechts.

  • Share:


Grand Slam of Darts 2013

Phil Taylor: Clinched his fifth Grand Slam of Darts title in Wolverhampton

Taylor cruises to Slam success

Phil Taylor clinched his fifth Grand Slam of Darts crown as he comprehensively beat Robert Thornton 16-6 in the final.

Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis applaud each other after their epic contest

Taylor wins epic with Lewis

Phil Taylor will play Robert Thornton the Grand Slam of Darts final after beating Adrian Lewis 16-9 in a classic semi.

James Wade congratulates Phil Taylor on his victory

Taylor repels Wade comeback

Phil Taylor remained on course for a fifth Grand Slam of Darts title by beating James Wade 16-12 in the quarter-finals.

Most Popular


Matchplay results

Matchplay results

The latest results from the 2014 World Matchplay darts at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool.

World Matchplay - R2

World Matchplay - R2

Take a look at our favourite images from the second round of the World Matchplay in Blackpool.

Power competition

Power competition

To celebrate the World Matchplay, win a set of Phil Taylor's darts - signed by the man himself.