Grand Slam of Darts: Phil Taylor given tough draw

Last Updated: 05/11/13 1:14pm

  • Share:
Phil Taylor handed a tough draw in the Grand Slam

Phil Taylor handed a tough draw in the Grand Slam

Sky Bet

Phil Taylor has been drawn alongside Kevin Painter, Paul Nicholson and Stuart Kellett for the Group Stage of the William Hill Grand Slam of Darts, which is live on Sky Sports.

Meanwhile, defending champion Raymond van Barneveld kicks off his title defence against Mervyn King, Tony O'Shea and Ricky Evans.

PDC world champion Taylor, a four-time Grand Slam of Darts winner, will head Group A for the 32-player event, which begins on Saturday in Wolverhampton, as he bids to follow up last weekend's Coral Masters triumph with another major title.

2010 Grand Slam of Darts champion Scott Waites, the reigning Lakeside Champion and number three seed, is drawn in Group H with World Grand Prix finalist Dave Chisnall, World Youth Champion Michael Smith and two-time Lakeside Champion Ted Hankey.

Number four seed Michael van Gerwen, the 2013 Premier League Darts champion, is drawn with Belgian ace Kim Huybrechts, Dean Winstanley and Dutch ace Vincent van der Voort in Group D.

European Champion Adrian Lewis, the number five seed, is paired with former Lakeside Champion Christian Kist, Belgium's Ronny Huybrechts and youngster Richie George - a Lakeside Championship semi-finalist in January - in Group C.

Number six seed Simon Whitlock, the 2012 European Champion, faces world number eight Wes Newton, former Lakeside Champion Mark Webster and PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour winner Ross Smith in Group G.

UK Open finalist Andy Hamilton, the number seven seed, tops Group F alongside 2012 UK Open champion Robert Thornton, former Grand Slam semi-finalist Mark Walsh and Wildcard Qualifier Justin Pipe.

Seven-time major champion James Wade, the 2010 Grand Slam of Darts runner-up and number eight seed, is joined in Group B by former Wolves Civic finalist Gary Anderson, Dutchman Wesley Harms and Wildcard Qualifier Peter Wright.

Watch the Grand Slam Darts live on Sky Sports 4HD from 1pm on Saturday

Full draw:

Phil Taylor (1)
Kevin Painter
Paul Nicholson
Stuart Kellett

James Wade (8)
Gary Anderson
Wesley Harms
Peter Wright

Adrian Lewis (5)
Christian Kist
Ronny Huybrechts
Richie George

Michael van Gerwen (4)
Kim Huybrechts
Dean Winstanley
Vincent van der Voort

Raymond van Barneveld (2)
Mervyn King
Tony O'Shea
Ricky Evans

Andy Hamilton (7)
Robert Thornton
Mark Walsh
Justin Pipe

Simon Whitlock (6)
Wes Newton
Mark Webster
Ross Smith

Scott Waites (3)
Dave Chisnall
Michael Smith

Ted Hankey

  • Share:


Grand Slam of Darts 2013

Phil Taylor: Clinched his fifth Grand Slam of Darts title in Wolverhampton

Taylor cruises to Slam success

Phil Taylor clinched his fifth Grand Slam of Darts crown as he comprehensively beat Robert Thornton 16-6 in the final.

Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis applaud each other after their epic contest

Taylor wins epic with Lewis

Phil Taylor will play Robert Thornton the Grand Slam of Darts final after beating Adrian Lewis 16-9 in a classic semi.

James Wade congratulates Phil Taylor on his victory

Taylor repels Wade comeback

Phil Taylor remained on course for a fifth Grand Slam of Darts title by beating James Wade 16-12 in the quarter-finals.

Most Popular


Darts is back!

Darts is back!

Darts returns to Sky Sports with the World Grand Prix and Grand Slam of Darts this autumn.

Power domination

Power domination

Have a look at Phil Taylor's World Grand Prix Darts history as he goes in search of a 12th title.

Grand Prix rewind

Grand Prix rewind

Take a look back at some of our favourite snaps from last year's World Grand Prix in Dublin.