Gibraltar Darts Trophy: Ross Smith hits nine-darter in defeat to Adrian Lewis

Last Updated: 30/06/13 11:16am

  • Share:
Ross Smith: Nine-darter in vain in defeat to Adrian Lewis

Ross Smith: Nine-darter in vain in defeat to Adrian Lewis

Sky Bet

Ross Smith hit a nine-dart finish at the Gibraltar Darts Trophy on Saturday, but went on to lose his second round clash with Adrian Lewis 6-5.

Bolton-based Smith, a winner on the PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour this year, wrote his name into the history books by achieving his perfect leg at the Victoria Stadium.

He trailed 4-2 before opening the seventh leg with back-to-back 180s, and finished 141 with treble 20, treble 15 and double 18 to complete his nine-dart finish, which puts him in line for a £3,600 bonus.

Lewis took the game's eighth leg, but Smith won the next two to force a deciding leg, only for the two-time world champion to show his class with a 13-darter as he edged into the third round.

"It's a magnificent achievement to hit the nine-darter and it's not sunk in yet," said Smith. "I've missed double 18 a few times before so I'm glad it went in.

"It's obviously disappointing that I went on to lose but it's a learning curve for me and maybe it played on my mind a bit for the rest of the match, but Adrian played some great darts."

Lewis will now play Jamie Caven in Sunday afternoon's third round, after the Derby ace averaged 104.67 in a superb 6-2 win over Ian White earlier in the day.

Michael van Gerwen's bid to win a third successive European Tour title continued as he saw off Scott Rand 6-2, sharing the opening four legs before finding another gear to reel off four in a row to progress.

The Dutch ace will play Colin Lloyd in round three, with the Essex thrower having defeated Finland's Jani Haavisto 6-4 in their last 32 contest.

World champion Phil Taylor dropped just one leg in his 6-1 win over Dean Winstanley, which sets him up for a last 16 contest with Dutch qualifier Leon De Geus, who knocked out Canadian John Part by the same scoreline.

World No 4 James Wade again impressed as he edged out Ronnie Baxter 6-5, with the Blackpool ace having taken out 131 in moving 5-4 up only for the left-hander to finish 120 to force a decider, which he won in 12 darts with a 108 finish.

Wade will face Kevin Painter in the third round, with the former Players Championship Finals winner in fine form as he defeated Austria's Mensur Suljovic 6-1.

Second round results:

John Part 1-6 Leon De Geus

Peter Wright 6-5 Paul Amos

Robert Thornton 5-6 Jamie Lewis

John Henderson 6-4 Justin Pipe

Jani Haavisto 4-6 Colin Lloyd

Paul Nicholson 3-6 Steve Brown

Ian White 2-6 Jamie Caven

Dave Chisnall 6-1 Josh Payne

Adrian Lewis 6-5 Ross Smith

Mensur Suljovic 1-6 Kevin Painter

Ronnie Baxter 5-6 James Wade

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Scott Rand

Connie Finnan 5-6 Steve Beaton

Phil Taylor 6-1 Dean Winstanley

Kim Huybrechts 6-0 Richie Burnett

Andy Hamilton 6-5 Gary Anderson

  • Share:

Post Comment

*All fields required, your email address will be kept private

Most Popular


Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.