Premier League Darts: Phil Taylor battles back to deny Michael van Gerwen

Last Updated: 11/02/13 1:24pm

  • Share:
Michael van Gerwen and Phil Taylor: had to settle for a point apiece in the final match of the night

Michael van Gerwen and Phil Taylor: had to settle for a point apiece in the final match of the night

Sky Bet

Phil Taylor claimed the final two legs to deny Michael van Gerwen victory on a thrilling opening night to the new Premier League season in Belfast.

'The Power' showed his intent with 180s on his first two trips to the oche, but troubles on his doubles - including missing eight of his first nine attempts - meant he slipped 3-1 behind.

"It was a scrappy game really. I missed doubles at the beginning and he missed doubles at the end. It (a draw) is probably a fair result."
Phil Taylor

Double 16 in the 10th leg meant Van Gerwen was certain of at least a point, and he seemed set to get both when he started the next with back-to-back 180s, though there was to be no dramatic nine-darter.

Indeed, 'Mighty Mike' made a complete mess of getting over the finishing line, missing five match darts. Taylor made him pay, too, staying alive with double 16 before sneaking a 6-6 result by taking out 104 in the last.

"It's not easy (to beat Taylor) but I also didn't lose, and that's important," Van Gerwen told Sky Sports afterwards. "I missed five for the match - that's my own fault. What can I do? More practice for next week."

Taylor admitted that a point apiece was a fair outcome, adding: "It was a scrappy game really. I missed doubles at the beginning and he missed doubles at the end. It's probably a fair result."

Fine finishing

Meanwhile, Simon Whitlock opened his campaign with a 7-3 triumph over an out-of-sorts Adrian Lewis, the Australian producing some fine finishing to win the battle of the last two beaten finalists.

'Jackpot' had his chances but struggled on his doubles and never led. His best chance to edge in front came in the third leg, yet he inexplicably hit treble 20 with his first dart when requiring 60.

Whitlock pounced with a 108 finish and from then on stayed in front; although Lewis did cut his lead to 4-3 with a break of throw, it proved to be the last leg the two-time world champion would win.

Raymond van Barneveld also kicked off his bid for glory in impressive fashion at the Odyssey Arena, rallying from 3-1 after some early issues on the doubles to get the better of Gary Anderson by a 7-4 scoreline.

"Up to the World Championship I practised so hard. Afterwards, I thought I'd have a bit of holiday. But you lose all sharpness," 'Barney', who finished the contest with an average just over 102, told Sky Sports. "Now I'll fly back home and practice all weekend."

James Wade, normally a slow starter in the competition, opened up with a comfortable 7-4 victory over debutant Wes Newton. There was better news, however, for another fresh face in the opening match, Scotsman Robert Thornton triumphing 7-5 in a see-saw battle against Andy Hamilton.

  • Share:


Premier League Darts 2013

Van Gerwen: fourth man, after Taylor, James Wade and Gary Anderson, to win Premier League

Harrington: MVG best in world

Premier League king Michael van Gerwen is the best player on planet darts, says Rod Harrington.

Michael van Gerwen: The Dutchman fought back from 5-2 down to lift the trophy at the O2 in London

Mighty Mike reigns supreme

Michael van Gerwen claimed the Premier League title at London's O2 with a thrilling 10-8 victory over Phil Taylor.

Michael van Gerwen: Will face James Wade in the last four on Finals Night

Van Gerwen clinches top spot

Michael van Gerwen ensured that he finished top of the Premier League after thrashing Robert Thornton 7-1 in Newcastle.

Most Popular


Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.