England's Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis will defend their World Cup of Darts title in Hamburg next month

Last Updated: 16/01/13 3:34pm

  • Share:
Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis: Edged Australia in dramatic final last year

Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis: Edged Australia in dramatic final last year

Sky Bet

Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis will defend their Betfair World Cup of Darts title in the 24-team tournament in Hamburg next month.

The English pair clinched the crown last year with a dramatic sudden-death victory over Paul Nicholson and Simon Whitlock, who again team up for Australia.

England start as top seeds, but much of the focus will be on the Netherlands with World Championship runner-up Michael van Gerwen teaming up with five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld.

Van Gerwen's rose to fourth in the PDC world rankings after he followed his World Grand Prix victory with an outstanding week at Alexandra Palace, where he lost out to Taylor in a high-quality final.

Van Gerwen replaces Vincent van der Voort as Van Barneveld's partner, while UK Open champion Robert Thornton's return to the world's top 16 earns him a place alongside Gary Anderson for Scotland.

Belgium's Kim and Ronny Huybrechts will become the first brothers to compete in the event, which starts on 1 February and is being screened exclusively live on Sky Sports.

Seeded Nations:

1 England (Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis)

2 Netherlands (Michael van Gerwen, Raymond van Barneveld)

3 Australia (Simon Whitlock, Paul Nicholson)

4 Scotland (Gary Anderson, Robert Thornton)

5 Wales (Mark Webster, Richie Burnett)

6 Northern Ireland (Brendan Dolan, Michael Mansell)

7 Germany (Jyhan Artut, Andree Welge)

8 Republic of Ireland (William O'Connor, Connie Finnan)

Pool B:

Spain (Antonio Alcinas, Carlos Rodriguez)

Belgium (Kim Huybrechts, Ronny Huybrechts)

Canada (John Part, Jeff Smith)

Finland (Jani Haavisto, Jarkko Komula)

Austria (Mensur Suljovic, Maik Langendorf)

Croatia (Robert Marijanovic, Tonci Restovic)

Gibraltar (Dyson Parody, Dylan Duo)

Denmark (Per Laursen, Jann Hoffmann)

Pool C:

Sweden (Magnus Caris, Par Riihonen)

Philippines (Lourence Ilagan, Christian Perez)

Japan (Haruki Muramatsu, Sho Katsumi)

USA (Darin Young, Larry Butler)

South Africa (Charl Pietersen, Shawn Hogan)

New Zealand (Phil Hazel, Craig Caldwell)

Hungary (Nandor Bezzeg, Meszaros Zsolt)

Poland (Krzysztof Kciuk, Krzysztof Ratajski)

  • Share:

Most Popular


Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.