Premier League Darts: Phil Taylor v Michael van Gerwen in opening night in Belfast

Last Updated: 12/01/13 7:38am

  • Share:

Sky Bet

Phil Taylor will face Michael van Gerwen in a repeat of the World Championship final in the opening night of the 2013 McCoy's Premier League darts season.

Fixtures for the upcoming Premier League darts season have been released along with the news that prize money for the event has risen by 15 percent for a total of £520,000.

Premier League opening Fixtures

Week One
February 7 - Belfast
Andy Hamilton v Robert Thornton
James Wade v Wes Newton
Raymond van Barneveld v Gary Anderson
Simon Whitlock v Adrian Lewis
Phil Taylor v Michael van Gerwen Week Two
February 14 - Aberdeen
Newton v van Barneveld
Hamilton v Wade
Anderson v Whitlock
Lewis v Taylor
Thornton v van Gerwen Week Three
February 21 - Bournemouth
Wade v Lewis
Thornton v Newton
Whitlock v Taylor
Van Gerwen v Van Barneveld
Hamilton v Anderson Week Four
February 28 - Exeter
Thornton v Anderson
Hamilton v Van Gerwen
Wade v Taylor
Newton v Lewis
Van Barneveld v Whitlock Week Five
March 7 - Nottingham
Wade v Thornton
Van Barneveld v Hamilton
Lewis v Van Gerwen
Taylor v Anderson
Newton v Whitlock

Champion Taylor leads an extended field of ten players for the event, with only the top eight surviving after week nine to complete the full 14 nights of league action before the top four go for the title in London in May.

The increase in prize money for the McCoy's Premier League Darts follows the announcement that the winner of the 2014 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship will earn a £250,000 prize and that prize funds for European Tour events will increase by almost 25% to £100,000 per event.

"Darts within the PDC is booming at the moment and it's important that this growth is reflected in our prize money," said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn. "These are exciting times to be a professional darts player!"

"We've experienced record crowds and record television ratings around the world for major tournaments over the last 12 months, which is a credit to the ever-increasing quality of play on show from the stars of our sport."

Taylor and Van Gerwen will renew their rivalry on the opening night on Thursday February 7 at the Odyssey Arena in Belfast, while two-time world champion Adrian Lewis will face last year's Premier League runner-up Simon Whitlock and 2011 Premier League champion Gary Anderson plays Raymond van Barneveld.

Wes Newton will make his Premier League debut against 2009 champion James Wade, and last year's semi-finalist Andy Hamilton meets another newcomer, the UK Open champion Robert Thornton.

The second week will see Anderson and Thornton meet Whitlock and van Gerwen respectively as they return to their native Scotland for the league night at Aberdeen's AECC.

The night will also feature a clash between Stoke rivals Lewis and Taylor, who hit a nine-dart finish in Aberdeen last year, as well as van Barneveld's contest with Newton and Hamilton's fixture against Wade.


The third league night, at the BIC in Bournemouth on February 21, will feature the all-Dutch clash between van Gerwen and van Barneveld - a repeat of the 2012 Grand Slam of Darts Final - as well as the rematch of last May's Premier League Darts final between Taylor and Whitlock.

The eagerly-anticipated clash between Taylor and van Barneveld comes in Glasgow in week eight, which will be their first meeting since their angry exchange on the Alexandra Palace stage after their World Championship semi-final.

The final league night before the bottom two players in the league table are eliminated, at The Brighton Centre on 4 April, include the meeting of Thornton and Taylor in a repeat of last year's UK Open final, while former Premier League winners Anderson and Wade also clash.

With the field reduced to eight players following Week Nine, the remaining stars will play each other once more across the final five league nights, with either five or six league fixtures to be played on each evening.

The fixtures for Weeks Ten-14 will be announced following Week Nine, with the top four players eventually progressing to compete in the Play-Offs at The O2 in London on 16 May.

  • Share:


Premier League Darts 2013

Van Gerwen: fourth man, after Taylor, James Wade and Gary Anderson, to win Premier League

Harrington: MVG best in world

Premier League king Michael van Gerwen is the best player on planet darts, says Rod Harrington.

Michael van Gerwen: The Dutchman fought back from 5-2 down to lift the trophy at the O2 in London

Mighty Mike reigns supreme

Michael van Gerwen claimed the Premier League title at London's O2 with a thrilling 10-8 victory over Phil Taylor.

Michael van Gerwen: Will face James Wade in the last four on Finals Night

Van Gerwen clinches top spot

Michael van Gerwen ensured that he finished top of the Premier League after thrashing Robert Thornton 7-1 in Newcastle.


Most Popular


Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.