Phil Taylor beat Kim Huybrechts to win a third Players Championship title

Last Updated: 03/12/12 12:21am

  • Share:
Phil Taylor: Stormed to victory over Huybrechts in the final

Phil Taylor: Stormed to victory over Huybrechts in the final

Sky Bet

Phil Taylor won his third Cash Converters Players Championship Finals title by sweeping to a 13-6 win over outsider Kim Huybrechts.

Taylor scooped the £60,000 first prize with a brilliant display in the final at Butlins in Minehead.

The duo were locked together after sharing the first 12 legs before Taylor found another gear to run away for the win.

"It's been a tough day today," Taylor said. "Winning against Andy Hamilton was probably my greatest escape and it's been an unbelievable day to be honest.

"Kim came into the final full of confidence but I wanted to keep putting him under pressure and making him think and eventually I got on top of him.

"He's got a huge future in the game and whoever plays him in the World Championship will be scared of him now. He'll be in loads more finals in the future."

He had stared defeat in the face earlier in the day, with Andy Hamilton missing one dart to defeat him in the quarter-finals before the 15-time world champion hit back from 9-5 down for a 10-9 win.

He then swept past Simon Whitlock 11-2 in the semi-finals after pulling away in mid-game, winning the final seven legs without reply.

Taylor punished a string of missed doubles from the Australian early on as he took command, going from one-all to 8-1 ahead in double-quick time.

Huybrechts beat Justin Pipe 11-6 in their semi-final after earlier seeing off Peter Wright 10-6 in their last eight encounter.

  • Share:


Players Championship darts 2012

Simon Whitlock: averaged 109.54 and hit a 170 checkout

Pure wizardry from Whitlock

Simon Whitlock turned on the style in the Players Championship Finals with a 10-1 romp against Ronnie Baxter.

Gary Anderson: Scot advanced to quarter-finals in Minehead

Anderson sees off Thornton

Gary Anderson, Justin Pipe, Peter Wright and Kim Huybrechts reached the last eight of the Players Championship Finals.

James Wade: Enlgish left-hander suffered first-round defeat against Brendan Dolan

Wade and Barney crash out

James Wade and Raymond van Barneveld both lost on the opening day of the Players Championship Finals.

Most Popular


Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.