Grand Slam of Darts: Scott Waites tops Group A with win over Phil Taylor; James Wade and Simon Whitlock crash out

Last Updated: 14/11/12 3:33pm

  • Share:
Scott Waites: turned on the style at the Grand Slam of Darts once again

Scott Waites: turned on the style at the Grand Slam of Darts once again

Sky Bet

Former champion Scott Waites beat Phil Taylor 5-2 to claim top spot in Group A at the Grand Slam of Darts on Tuesday evening.

Waites, who won this event in 2010 a year after losing 16-2 in the final to Taylor, produced a clinical display to win the group on legs difference. Taylor also finished on four points and advances to the last 16.

Taylor produced one vintage moment, a 164 checkout on the bull to level at 1-1, but thereafter it was one-way traffic with Waites closing out the result on double 18 with an 87 checkout.

Tuesday results

Arron Monk 5-1 Jan Dekkern
Co Stompe 5-2 Mark Webster
Kevin Painter 5-3 James Hubbard
Robert Thornton 5-4 Steve Beaton
Mervyn King 5-2 James Wade
Scott Waites 5-2 Phil Taylor
Dean Winstanley 5-1 Simon Whitlock
Michael van Gerwen 5-0 Ted Hankey

Mark Webster had earlier gone down 5-2 to the previously winless Co Stompe to ensure neither Waites nor Taylor were under much pressure when they took to the stage at Wolverhampton's Civic Hall.

Mervyn King eliminated James Wade with a 5-2 victory in the final match of Group D.

Arron Monk's 5-1 success over Jan Dekker in Tuesday's opener meant Wade could only afford to drop two legs against King or he was out.

Wade did not come close. King claimed the opening leg against the throw and sealed his opponent's fate with a 116 checkout in the fifth to lead 3-2.

King went on to earn a 5-2 win and top Group D with a 100 per cent record. Monk - who beat Wade 5-1 on Saturday night - advanced in second.

Dean Winstanley's 5-1 triumph over Simon Whitlock saw him go through as Group C winner, sending Whitlock home in the process. Kevin Painter was the other qualifier from the group thanks to a 5-3 success against James Hubbard.

Michael van Gerwen whitewashed Ted Hankey in the final act of the night to go through at the head of Group B along with second-placed Robert Thornton, who had edged out Steve Beaton 5-4 in a high-quality encounter. Van Gerwen's cause was aided by Hankey appearing to struggle with an eye problem.

  • Share:


Grand Slam of Darts 2012

Raymond van Barneveld with the trophy. (Picture: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Van Barneveld wins Grand Slam

Raymond van Barneveld captured The Grand Slam of Darts after winning his all-Dutch final with Michael van Gerwen 16-14.

Michael van Gerwen: Was in fine form to dispatch Dean Winstanley in his semi-final

Dutch delight for finalists

Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld will battle for the title in Sunday's Grand Slam of Darts final.

Michael van Gerwen: Remains the man to beat following his 16-12 success over Scott Waites

Dutchmen progress to semis

Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld put on shows in the Grand Slam of Darts to reach the semi-finals.

Most Popular


Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.