Taylor powers into round two

Dutch teenager no match for 14-time world champ

Last Updated: 31/01/09 9:35am

  • Share:
Taylor: Memories

Taylor: Memories

Sky Bet

Phil Taylor stormed into round two of the coral.co.uk Players Championship with a superb 6-3 win over Michael van Gerwen on Friday night.

"I have so many memories of this place and now I want to create some more by winning this title."
Phil Taylor Quotes of the week

Taylor announced his return to Purfleet's Circus Tavern, where he won 11 of his 14 World Championship titles, with a powerhouse display to see off the teenage Dutchman.

He averaged 108.49 in taking the victory, which sets up a meeting with another Dutch ace, Vincent van der Voort, in Saturday afternoon's second round.

"I can play better but a win is a win and you want to come here to perform," said Taylor.

"I have so many memories of this place and now I want to create some more by winning this title."

Solid start

Raymond van Barneveld, who was defeated by Taylor in the World Championship final four weeks ago, made his return to action with a strong 6-4 victory over Andy Jenkins, averaging just under 100 in the process.

Van Barneveld now takes on Andy Smith in the second round, with the Englishman having hit finishes of 161 and 155 in seeing off Colin Osborne 6-1 earlier on Friday.

World number two James Wade produced a solid start to his challenge with a 6-2 defeat of Steve Beaton, while Andy Hamilton saw off Peter Manley by the same scoreline.

Alan Tabern, the number three seed after claiming a hat-trick of Players Championship wins in 2008, powered past Adrian Lewis 6-3.

Kevin Painter and Robert Thornton prevailed in deciding leg shoot-outs in their respective clashes with Alex Roy and Mark Dudbridge.

Two former Purfleet World Champions collide on Saturday, when 1994 World Champion Dennis Priestley takes on the 2003 winner John Part, after they both picked up 6-3 wins against Steve Maish and Denis Ovens respectively.

Wayne Mardle saved the day's biggest comeback for the final game, fighting back from 4-1 down to win 6-4 against Mark Walsh and set up a last 16 date with Mervyn King.

First Round

Afternoon Session

Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Chris Mason

Colin Lloyd 6-1 Jamie Caven

Ronnie Baxter 6-4 Tony Eccles

Wayne Jones 6-2 Terry Jenkins

Mervyn King 6-2 Felix McBrearty

Andy Smith 6-1 Colin Osborne

Dennis Priestley 6-3 Steve Maish

Evening Session

Kevin Painter 6-5 Alex Roy

Alan Tabern 6-3 Adrian Lewis

Andy Hamilton 6-2 Peter Manley

James Wade 6-2 Steve Beaton

Robert Thornton 6-5 Mark Dudbridge

Phil Taylor 6-3 Michael van Gerwen

Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Andy Jenkins

John Part 6-3 Denis Ovens

Wayne Mardle 6-4 Mark Walsh

Saturday January 30

Second Round

Afternoon Session

12.45pm - Alan Tabern v Robert Thornton

1.35pm - Dennis Priestley v John Part

2.10pm - Andy Smith v Raymond van Barneveld

2.45pm - James Wade v Kevin Painter

3.20pm - Mervyn King v Wayne Mardle

3.55pm - Ronnie Baxter v Wayne Jones

4.30pm - Colin Lloyd v Andy Hamilton

5.05pm - Phil Taylor v Vincent van der Voort


Evening Session

6.15pm - Priestley/Part v Tabern/Thornton

7.25pm - Wade/Painter v Smith/van Barneveld

8.35pm - Baxter/Jones v King/Mardle

9.45pm - Taylor/van der Voort v Lloyd/Hamilton

  • Share:


Most Popular


Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.