Scheldeprijs 2014 preview

Guide to the Belgian sprinters' Classic

Last Updated: 08/04/14 6:08pm

  • Share:
Scheldeprijs ends with a bunch sprint

Scheldeprijs ends with a bunch sprint

Sky Bet

The sprinters in the peloton get another chance to challenge for Classics glory at the Belgian one-day race Scheldeprijs on Wednesday.

Despite being sandwiched between the legendary and attritional Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix, the lower-profile Scheldeprijs offers a different kind of racing, with raw speed prioritised over brute power.

The race is a cobbled Classic, but the route only has a small amount of pave, as the cobbles are known, and therefore should not derail the sprint trains.

Mark Cavendish is a three-time winner of the race but has withdrawn through illness, but two-time winner Marcel Kittel will be on the start line.

Highlights of the race will be screened on Sky Sports 3 from 11.30pm BST.

The route

The parcours retains a familiar look to recent additions, with a slightly modified route out of Antwerp greeting the riders ahead of 201km of racing.

From there, the route gradually works its way north towards the Dutch border at Meerle, before arching back around and down into Hoogstraten (51.8km).

The riders continue in a southerly direction, deviating slightly to take in Vimmeren (81km), Lille (83.5km) and Lichtaart (98km), before heading back west towards the destination town of Schoten.

The race concludes with three laps of a slightly trimmed 16.4km clockwise finishing circuit around Schoten, where the usual battle between sprint trains and escapees should reach an exciting crescendo.

Each lap features a passage over the Broekstraat cobbled section and positioning will be key in the seemingly inevitable final sprint.

The favourites

Marcel Kittel (Giant-Shimano) has won the race in each of the past two years and with neither Mark Cavendish or Andre Greipel present, he is the clear favourite to make it three in a row. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) had already won Milan-San Remo this year and has continued his fine form so will be a threat, while Arnaud Demare (FDJ) appears to get stronger with every race and should be in the mix.

Previous winners

2013: Marcel Kittel (Ger)
2012: Marcel Kittel (Ger)
2011: Mark Cavendish (GB)
2010: Tyler Farrar (USA)
2009: Alessandro Petacchi (Ita)
2008: Mark Cavendish (GB)
2007: Mark Cavendish (GB)
2006: Tom Boonen (Bel)
2005: Thorwald Veneberg (Ned)
2004: Tom Boonen (Bel)

Brit watch

Andrew Fenn (Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)
Luke Rowe (Team Sky)
Scott Thwaites (NetApp-Endura)
Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky)

  • Share:


Classics 2014

The 257km race was played out in dry and dusty conditions

Paris-Roubaix gallery

The best photos from a sensational edition of the 'Hell of the North'

Wiggins honoured to finish in top 10

Thomas & Wiggins in top 10

Niki Terpstra won Paris-Roubaix as Geraint Thomas finished seventh and Bradley Wiggins ninth.

Paris-Roubaix is also known as the 'Hell of the North'

Live: Paris-Roubaix 2014

Follow all the action from the "Hell of the North", where Fabian Cancellara is defending champion.

Most Popular


Bizarre Astana

Bizarre Astana

Orla Chennaoui blogs on a strange exchange with the embattled Kazakh team Astana.

Tinkov exclusive Q&A

Tinkov exclusive Q&A

Orla Chennaoui interviews Oleg Tinkov about the Russian's €1million triple Grand Tour challenge.

Track Euros guide

Track Euros guide

Day-by-day guide to the European Track Championships in Guadeloupe.