Michal Kwiatkowski claims solo victory at Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana in Mallorca

Last Updated: 11/02/14 8:00pm

  • Share:
Michal Kwiatkowski escaped from the peloton on the climb of Puig Major

Michal Kwiatkowski escaped from the peloton on the climb of Puig Major

Sky Bet

Poland's Michal Kwiatkowski claimed a solo victory at the one-day Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana in Mallorca.

The 23-year-old Omega Pharma - Quick-Step rider escaped from the peloton alongside Team Sky's Sergio Henao in the closing stages of the 152.9km race and later forged clear on his own to seal a 27-second victory.

Team Sky's Edvald Boasson Hagen won a bunch sprint for second place, with Astana's Francesco Gavazzi taking third.

Kwiatkowski said afterwards: "I arrived alone and it is super nice when you can raise your arms in the sky for the win. It is a great feeling and I am very happy about it."

Henao attacked on the final climb, Puig Major, and after Kwiatkowski followed, the pair swiftly bridged across to the day's five-man breakaway.

The group initially worked together as a seven, but with the peloton bearing down, the young Pole kicked again 6km from home and quickly opened up a gap that his rivals were unable to close.

Simon Yates (Orica-GreenEdge) was the highest British finisher, in 13th. Sir Bradley Wiggins finished 17min 41sec down on the winner, in 125th.


1 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, 3:59:51
2 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Sky, +27sec
3 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana, same time
4 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st
5 Petr Vakoc (Cze) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st
6 Pieter Serry (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st
7 Jesus Del Pino (Spa) Burgos-BH, st
8 Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA, st
9 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana, st
10 Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky, st

  • Share:

Most Popular


Fresh goals

Fresh goals

In her latest blog, Joanna Rowsell sets new targets after her Commonwealth Games gold.

Vuelta: The Climbs

Vuelta: The Climbs

We take a close look at the eight summit finishes that could decide the race winner.

Vuelta contenders

Vuelta contenders

We pick out eight riders who could challenge for overall victory, including Chris Froome.