Tour de San Luis: Nairo Quintana secures overall win as Sacha Modolo takes final stage

Last Updated: 26/01/14 10:34pm

  • Share:
Nairo Quintana: Tour de San Luis champion

Nairo Quintana: Tour de San Luis champion

Sky Bet

Colombia's Nairo Quintana has won the Tour de San Luis after finishing safely in the pack on the seventh and final stage which was won by Italian Sacha Modolo.

Movistar rider Quintana finished 27th on the 148.1km run from San Luis Terrazas del Portezuelo as he extended his overall advantage over American Phil Gaimon (Garmin-Sharp) to 43 seconds.

Lampre-Merida rider Modolo held off Slovakia's Peter Sagan (Cannondale) to claim the stage victory with his team-mate Max Richeze of Argentina third as a leading bunch of 20 riders were all given the same time of three hours, 13 minutes, 28 seconds.

Quintana was in a group of 11, which also included British duo Adam Yates (Orica GreenEDGE) and Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma - Quick-Step), who finished seven seconds behind Modolo.

Home hope Sergio Godoy held on to third place overall with Colombia's Julian Arredondo, who won Saturday's sixth stage, in fourth spot.

Yates ended up 11th overall with Cavendish down in 91st place, 38:50 behind Quintana.

Stage seven result

1 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida, 3:13:28
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale, all same time
3 Max Richeze (Arg) Lampre-Merida
4 Mauro Richeze (Arg) Argentina
5 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica GreenEDGE
6 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek
7 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela
8 Tosh Van de Sande (Bel) Lotto Belisol
9 Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step
10 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC

General classification

1 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar, 24:48:48
2 Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin-Sharp, +43
3 Sergio Godoy (Arg) San Luis Todos Somos, +2:02
4 Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek, +2:54
5 Enzo Moyano (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos, +3:04
6 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne-Seche Environement, +3:43
7 Marc de Maar (Ned) UnitedHealthcare, +3:44
8 Peter Stetina (USA) BMC, +3:51
9 Darwin Atapuma (Col) BMC, +3:57
10 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale, +4:037
11 Adam Yates (Gbr) Orica GreenEDGE, +4:35

  • Share:

Most Popular


Bizarre Astana

Bizarre Astana

Orla Chennaoui blogs on a strange exchange with the embattled Kazakh team Astana.

Tinkov exclusive Q&A

Tinkov exclusive Q&A

Orla Chennaoui interviews Oleg Tinkov about the Russian's €1million triple Grand Tour challenge.

Track Euros guide

Track Euros guide

Day-by-day guide to the European Track Championships in Guadeloupe.