Tour de San Luis: Adriano Malori wins stage five TT as Nairo Quintana takes race lead

Last Updated: 24/01/14 10:43pm

  • Share:
Adriano Malori won the stage by less than three seconds

Adriano Malori won the stage by less than three seconds

Sky Bet

Adriano Malori narrowly defeated Taylor Phinney to win stage five's individual time trial at the Tour de San Luis in Argentina as Nairo Quintana moved into the overall race lead.

Italian rider Malori (Movistar) stopped the clock on a 19.2km course starting and ending in San Luis in a time of 22min 11sec, less than three seconds faster than BMC's Phinney.

Quintana (Movistar) started the day four seconds adrift of race leader Phillip Gaimon (Garmin-Sharp), but negotiated the course 30 seconds faster than his American opponent, who now drops to second, 26 seconds back.

Quintana finished 16th on the day, 1min 18sec down on team-mate Malori. Britain's Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) finished 20th, 1min 27sec adrift of the winning time.

Stage five result

1 Adriano Malori (Ita) Movistar, 22:11
2 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC, +3secs
3 Jorge Giacinit (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos, +29
4 Lawrence Warbasse (USA) BMC, +48
5 Andrey Amador (Cos) Movistar, +52
6 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC, +53
7 Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, +57
8 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Trek, +1:02
9 Eloy Teruel (Spa) Jamis-Hagens Berman, +1:03
10 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale, +1:05
Selected other
16 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar, +1:18

General classification

1 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar, 17:18:14
2 Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin-Sharp, +26
3 Sergio Godoy (Arg) San Luis Todos Somos, +2:01
4 Enzo Moyano (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos, +2:17
5 Marc de Maar (Ned) UnitedHealthcare, +2:47
6 Peter Stetina (USA) BMC, +2:57
7 Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek, +2:59
8 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne-Seche Environement, +3:13
9 Darwin Atapuma (Col) BMC, +3:21
10 Miguel Angel Rubiano (Col) Colombia, +3:30

  • Share:


Tour de San Luis 2014

Nairo Quintana won the stage by 50 seconds

Quintana climbs to solo win

Nairo Quintana climbed to a solo victory on stage four of the Tour de San Luis in Argentina.

Giacomo Nizzolo sprinted to victory in Juana Koslay

Nizzolo wins San Luis sprint

Giacomo Nizzolo won stage three of the Tour de San Luis as Phillip Gaimon retained the race lead.

Julian Arredondo: Outsprinted Peter Stetina to claim victory

Arredondo climbs to victory

Colombia's Julian Arredondo climbed to victory on stage two of the Tour de San Luis in Argentina.

Most Popular


Fresh goals

Fresh goals

In her latest blog, Joanna Rowsell sets new targets after her Commonwealth Games gold.

Vuelta: The Climbs

Vuelta: The Climbs

We take a close look at the eight summit finishes that could decide the race winner.

Vuelta contenders

Vuelta contenders

We pick out eight riders who could challenge for overall victory, including Chris Froome.