Road World Championships: Matt Gibson fifth as Igor Decraene takes junior men's TT win

Last Updated: 24/09/13 5:38pm

  • Share:
Matt Gibson produced an impressive performance

Matt Gibson produced an impressive performance

Sky Bet

Great Britain's Matt Gibson claimed fifth place in the junior men's time trial at the UCI Road World Championships in Florence.

The 17-year-old stopped the clock on a flat, 22km course in 27min 26.99sec, which was 30.16 seconds behind winner Igor Decraene, of Belgium.

Gibson was only eight seconds off the pace at the first intermediate split but continued to slip back in the second and third sectors.

Decaene, 17, the Belgian junior champion, was the fastest at every split and won by 8.66 seconds from second-placed Mathias Krigbaum, of Denmark, and with the United States' Zeke Mostov 12 seconds further back in third.

In the elite women's time trial, Ellen van Dijk, of the Netherlands, claimed the rainbow jersey by stopping the clock on a 22km course in 27min 48.18sec.

The 26-year-old was fastest at all three intermediate splits and won by 24.1 seconds from runner-up Linda Villumsen, of New Zealand.

The United States' Carmen Small took the bronze medal, 28.7 seconds down on Van Dijk.

Van Dijk said afterwards: "I dreamt of this jersey and I felt the pressure a lot in the last few days, so now I'm very happy. I started very fast, I slowed down only in the last kilometres.

"I had studied the course carefully, training at five in the morning to avoid traffic and watching videos to get to know the turns better."

Great Britain did not have a rider in the race after Emma Pooley opted to skip the world championships in order to concentrate on her studies.

Junior men's time trial result

1 Igor Decraene (Bel), 26:56
2 Mathias Krigbaum (Den), +8sec
3 Zeke Mostov (USA), +20
4 Joshua Stritzinger (Ger), +23
5 Matt Gibson (GB), +30
6 Ole Forfang (Nor), +44
7 Corentin Ermenault (Fra), +same time
8 Dmitriy Rive (Kaz), +46
9 Nicolay Cherkasov (Rus), +49
10 Michael Dessau (USA), +53

Elite women's time trial result

1 Ellen van Dijk (Ned), +27:48
2 Linda Willumsen (NZ), +24
3 Carmen Small (USA), +28
4 Evelyn Stevens (USA), same time
5 Trixi Worrack (Ger), +31
6 Annika Langvad (Den), +39
7 Olga Zabelinskaya (Rus), +40
8 Hanna Solovey (Ukr), +42
9 Tatiana Antoshina (Rus), st
10 Emma Johansson (Swe), +53

  • Share:


Road World Championships 2013

Rui Costa outsprinted Joaquim Rodriguez at the death

Costa wins as Froome falters

Rui Costa is the new world road race champion but Chris Froome failed to finish.

Chris Froome admitted he struggled in the world road race

Froome: It wasn't my day

Chris Froome admitted it wasn't his day after abandoning world road race in Tuscany.

Marianne Vos launched her winning attack on the final climb

Vos retains world road title

Marianne Vos claimed her second successive world road race title as Lizzie Armitstead finished 19th.

Most Popular


Britain leads the way

Britain leads the way

Dutch ace Marianne Vos says Britain is playing a leading role in promoting women’s cycling.

Bizarre Astana

Bizarre Astana

Orla Chennaoui blogs on a strange exchange with the embattled Kazakh team Astana.

Tinkov exclusive Q&A

Tinkov exclusive Q&A

Orla Chennaoui interviews Oleg Tinkov about the Russian's €1million triple Grand Tour challenge.