Giro d'Italia: Vincenzo Nibali all but secures overall victory by winning stage 20

By Matt Westby.   Last Updated: 25/05/13 6:23pm

  • Share:
Vincenzo Nibali is on the verge of his first Giro triumph

Vincenzo Nibali is on the verge of his first Giro triumph

Sky Bet

Vincenzo Nibali all but wrapped up overall victory of the Giro d'Italia with a magnificent solo win in heavy snow on stage 20.

The 28-year-old Italian attacked his rivals 2.5km out from the spectacular summit finish at Tre Cime di Lavaredo and crossed the line 17 seconds in front of second-placed Fabio Duarte and 19 seconds ahead of third-placed Rigoberto Uran.

It extended his lead in the general classification to 4min 43sec and only a catastrophe on Sunday's flat stage into Brescia can now deny him a maiden Giro triumph.

The victory also saw Nibali take over from Mark Cavendish at the top of the points classification. He leads by 11 points, but the Briton should be able to overhaul that deficit on stage 21, which is almost certain to end in a sprint and offers 25 points to the winner.

Uran, meanwhile, moves up to second overall after Cadel Evans was dropped on the final climb and lost over a minute.

Colombians profit

His Colombian compatriot Carlos Betancur was the other big beneficiary of a memorable stage, with his fourth-place finish moving him back into the best young rider's white jersey and elevating him to fifth in the general classification.

After stage 19 had been cancelled due to poor weather, stage 20 delivered a dramatic finale to the Giro's time in the mountains, with stunning scenery and wintry conditions providing a thrilling backdrop to a sublime show of strength from Nibali (Astana), the race's outstanding rider.

The day had been heavily amended due to snow on high ground, with three climbs being taken out and the route subsequently extended to 210km, but none of the drama of the closing kilometres was lost.

Three riders led heading on to the final climb - Eros Capecchi (Movistar), Pieter Weening (Orica-GreenEDGE) and Gianluca Brambilla (Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) - and briefly held a minute's advantage over a thinned-down peloton, but when the pace on the front was stepped up, it soon began to plummet.

Nibali untouchable

By now the snow was also falling and after the lead trio had been swallowed up, Nibali rode himself into Giro legend.

He whittled down the peloton even further with a short attack 3km out that only a handful of riders could respond to, and then obliterated the field completely with another, decisive burst 2.5km from home

Although unable to keep pace, Uran (Team Sky) and Betancur (Ag2r-La Mondiale) set off in pursuit and dropped all the other chasers bar Duarte (Team Colombia), and the three Colombians consequently went on to take places two to four on the stage.

A broken Evans (BMC) followed over a minute later and will now have to settle for third overall.

Watch highlights of stage 20 on Sky Sports 4HD from 9pm

Stage 20 result

1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, 5:27:41
2 Fabio Duarte (Col) Colombia, +17secs
3 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Team Sky, +19
4 Carlos Betancur (Col) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +21
5 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana, +44
6 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni-Giocattoli, +48
7 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +54
8 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale, +58
9 Darwin Atapuma (Col) Colombia, +1.00
10 Rafal Majka (Pol) Saxo-Tinkoff, +1.04
Selected other
14 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC, +1.30

General classification

1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, 79:23:19
2 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Team Sky, +4.43
3 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC, +5.52
4 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-Merida, +6.48
5 Carlos Betancur (Col) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +7.28
6 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida, +7.43
7 Rafal Majka (Pol) Saxo-Tinkoff, 8.09
8 Benat Intxausti (Spa) Movistar, 10.26
9 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini, +10.32
10 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, 10.59

Points classification

1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, 128 points
2 Mark Cavendish (GB) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, 117
3 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC, 111
4 Carlos Betancur (Col) Ag2r-La Mondiale, 108
5 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Team Sky, 102

Other jerseys

Blue (mountains classification) - Stefano Pirazzi (Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox)
White (best young rider) - Carlos Betancur (Ag2r-La Mondiale)

  • Share:


Most Popular


Vuelta lessons

Vuelta lessons

Eight things we learnt from the final Grand Tour of the season, won by Alberto Contador.

New direction

New direction

In the latest instalment of her blog, Joanna Rowsell explains why she has changed teams.

Riders to watch

Riders to watch

We pick out the GC contenders, sprinters and Britons to keep an eye on at the Tour of Britain.