Giro d'Italia: More woe for Bradley Wiggins as Rigoberto Uran wins mountainous stage 10

By Matt Westby.   Last Updated: 15/05/13 12:22am

  • Share:
Rigoberto Uran climbed to an impressive solo victory

Rigoberto Uran climbed to an impressive solo victory

Sky Bet

Sir Bradley Wiggins lost more time to his rivals at the Giro d'Italia as team-mate Rigoberto Uran overtook him in the general classification with a superb solo victory on stage 10.

The Colombian powered clear of the field midway up the climb to the summit finish at Altopiano del Montasio in northern Italy and held off a late challenge from compatriot Carlos Betancur to win by 20 seconds.

Race leader Vincenzo Nibali and Cadel Evans followed another 11 seconds further back in third and fifth place respectively, but Wiggins was dropped 3km from the top of the tough, 21km climb and crossed the line 1min 8sec down on Uran.

It means the Briton now trails Nibali overall by 2min 5sec in fourth, with Evans 41 seconds back in second and Uran, who rises to third, a solitary second ahead of his team-mate.

Wiggins's inability to keep pace with the likes of Nibali on the steep ramps of the climb was not unexpected and he fought valiantly to limit his losses.

However, being leapfrogged in the overall standings by Uran, who climbed imperiously, raises fresh questions over whether the Briton will be able to retain the leadership of Team Sky through the race's remaining four high-mountain stages.

Brailsford 'disappointed'

Team Sky principal Sir Dave Brailsford said afterwards: "It is disappointing but you have got to put it in perspective. That was one of the hardest finishes in the race. It was very steep where he lost touch.

"From my point of view, I like it when we take the initiative. It is better to take it on and absolutely try; sometimes it works out and sometimes it doesn't. We have got to be very happy for Rigo, he has got great form. Not quite the result for Bradley, but I am happy that we took it on."

Stage 10 saw the Giro enter the Alps for the first time and took the riders on a 167km route from Cordenons to Altopiano del Montasio, including two category-one climbs.

A 13-man breakaway group, containing Britain's David Millar (Garmin-Sharp), formed 30km into the stage and opened up a gap of over eight minutes, but it began to split apart on the first climb, the Passo Cason di Lanza.

Back in the peloton, first Astana and later Team Sky set a fierce pace that thinned out the pack and saw defending champion Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) dropped just short of the summit.

Wiggins managed to put his downhill confidence crisis of previous days behind him on the subsequent descent of the opposite flank, before a strung-out bunch reformed on a short section of flat ahead of the final climb.

Uran breaks clear

Once again, Team Sky took up the pace-setting and by the time the remnants of the breakaway had been caught 9.5km out, less than 30 riders remained at the front of the race.

Wiggins hinted that he was struggling with the pace by sitting a dozen wheels back from his team-mates, but then Uran attacked 9.5km out in a move that appeared to be laying the platform for a burst from Wiggins.

It didn't come. Uran, now leading, streaked away from the likes of Nibali (Astana) and Evans (BMC) effortlessly and swiftly opened up a 50-second gap.

Nibali, wearing the pink jersey, waited until 4.5km from home to take up the chase and other riders also began to set off in lone pursuit of Uran - first Domenico Pozzovivo and then Betancur (both Ag2r-La Mondiale).

In behind, a grimacing Wiggins could not respond to the increase in pace and fell away along with Italy's Michele Scarponi (Lampre-Merida).

After Betancur's chase of the excellent Uran fell short, attention turned to who would sprint to the pick of the remaining bonus seconds, and it was Nibali who edged out Mauro Santambrogio (Vini Fantini) and Evans.

Watch highlights of stage 10 on Sky Sports 2HD from 7.30pm

Stage 10 result

1 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Team Sky, 4:37:42
2 Carlos Betancur (Col) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +20secs
3 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, +31
4 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini, same time
5 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC, st
6 Rafal Majka (Pol) Saxo-Tinkoff, st
7 Domenico Possovivo (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, st
8 Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack-Leopard, +47
9 Benat Intxausti (Spa) Movistar, +1.06
10 Bradley Wiggins (GB) Team Sky. +1.08

General classification

1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana 38:57:32
2 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC, +41
3 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Team Sky, +2.04
4 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky, +2.05
5 Robert Gesink (Ned) Blanco, +2.12
6 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-Merida, +2.13
7 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini, +2.55
8 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida, +3.35
9 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +4.17
10 Rafal Majka (Pol) Saxo-Tinkoff, +4.21

Other jerseys

Red (points classification) - Cadel Evans (BMC)
Blue (mountains classification) - Stefano Pirazzi (Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox)
White (best young rider) - Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff)

  • Share:


Most Popular


Fresh goals

Fresh goals

In her latest blog, Joanna Rowsell sets new targets after her Commonwealth Games gold.

Vuelta: The Climbs

Vuelta: The Climbs

We take a close look at the eight summit finishes that could decide the race winner.

Vuelta contenders

Vuelta contenders

We pick out eight riders who could challenge for overall victory, including Chris Froome.