Daniel Diaz completes Tour de San Luis victory as Mattia Gavazzi wins final stage

Last Updated: 27/01/13 10:20pm

  • Share:
Daniel Diaz: Sealed overall victory

Daniel Diaz: Sealed overall victory

Sky Bet

Italy's Mattia Gavazzi outsprinted Peter Sagan to win stage seven of the Tour de San Luis as Argentina's Daniel Diaz secured overall victory.

Gavazzi (Androni Giocattoli) overcame his Slovakian counterpart on a slight climb to the finish, but the sprint was not contested by Mark Cavendish, who decided to sit up after making contact with another rider in the bunch.

In the absence of a general classification contender mounting a purposeful attack, home favourite Diaz (San Luis Somos Todos) was able to complete a 33-second race victory over the United States' Tejay van Garderen (BMC) in second place.

Brazil's Alex Diniz (Funvin Brasilinvest) also crossed the line in the peloton to consolidate his third place on the podium.

The seventh and final stage of the race took the riders on a rolling 154km route from San Luis to Juana Koslay.

A group of eight riders, including former race leader Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma - Quick-Step), broke clear of the peloton and opened up a gap of almost four minutes.

However, they were hauled in with 25km to go and the sprinters' teams soon moved to the head of the race.

With the road dropping downhill before rising back up just before the finish, Omega Pharma - Quick-Step assumed control as they looked to deliver Cavendish in prime position.

But after he pulled out, it was left to Gavazzi, who was last year given a backdated two-and-a-half-year ban after testing positive for cocaine in 2010, to claim victory ahead of Sagan and Spain's Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) in third.

Stage seven result

1 Mattia Gavazzi (Ita) Androni Giocattolo, 3:25:48

2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale, same time

3 Francisco Ventoso (Spa) Movistar, st

4 Max Richeze (Arg) Lampre-Merida, st

5 Bartlomiej Matysiak (Pol) CCC, st

6 Juan José Haedo (Arg) Jamis-Hagens Berman, st

7 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Bardiani, st

8 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, st

9 Sebastián Tolosa (Arg) Buenos Aires Provincia, st

10 Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto-Belisol, st

Final general classification

1 Daniel Diaz (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos, 24:03.16

2 Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC, +33secs

3 Alex Diniz (Bra) Funvic Brasilinvest, +39

4 Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo-Tinkoff, +1.02

5 Jurgen van den Broeck (Bel) Lotto-Belisol, +1.47

6 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini, +2.29

7 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli, +2.34

8 Janier Acevedo (Col) Jamis-Hagens Berman, +3.00

9 Bart de Clercq (Bel) Lotto-Belisol, +3.14

10 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, +3.17

  • Share:

Most Popular


Time for redemption

Time for redemption

In the first instalment of her new blog, Orla Chennaoui looks ahead to the world championships

Vuelta lessons

Vuelta lessons

Eight things we learnt from the final Grand Tour of the season, won by Alberto Contador.

Cycling transfers

Cycling transfers

A team-by-team guide to which riders are on the move and where for the 2015 season.