Silver lining for Houvenaghel

Australia claim 12 of 14 gold medals on offer

By Jonathan Turner.   Last Updated: 08/10/10 11:22am

  • Share:
Houvenaghel: Another silver

Houvenaghel: Another silver

Sky Bet

Northern Ireland's Wendy Houvenaghel took the silver medal behind Alison Shanks of New Zealand in the women's individual pursuit final at the Commonwealth Games on Friday.

Olympic silver medallist Houvenaghel was the second fastest qualifier in three minutes 34.560 seconds, nearly two-and-a-half seconds slower than her final opponent.

Both women went faster in the final but the gap between them remained in Shanks' favour as she won in a time of 3:30.875, to Houvenaghel's 3:32.137.

"Another silver medal," said Houvenaghel, who was also second in March's World Championships. "I came here for the gold - as always - and I am a little bit disappointed to come away with the silver again.

"But I gave it everything I had and the outcome was out of my control. I'm happy to have a medal from this competition."

Canada's Tara Whitten won bronze with a ride of 3:35.810, finishing ahead of Australia's Jaime Nielsen in the third/fourth-placed ride off.

Paralympic champion Sarah Storey finished in 3:39.964, to place sixth in qualification, missing out on a second ride with only four riders progressing.

England's Laura Trott clocked 3:40.329 and team-mate Anna Blyth 3:51.252 to place seventh and 10th, respectively.

Final flourish for Australia

In the day's other two events it was business as usual for Australia as they rounded off a dominant week in perfect style.

The velodrome heard the Australian national anthem for the 11th time from 13 events as Daniel Ellis, Jason Niblett and Scott Sunderland won men's team sprint gold in 43.772 ahead of New Zealand, who took silver in 44.233.

Scotland's men's team sprint trio of John Paul, Chris Pritchard and Callum Skinner clocked 46.273 to finish fourth as Malaysia took bronze in 45.040.

Then in the concluding men's 20km scratch race final Cameron Meyer added a 12th gold for Australia - his third of the Games.

It was a clean sweep for Australia, with Jack Bobridge, the individual pursuit champion taking second place and Michael Freiberg third.

Mark Christian was the best-placed Home Nations rider, with the Manxman sixth.

  • Share:


Commonwealth Games Cycling

Alex Dowsett beat second-placed Rohan Dennis by nine seconds

Dowsett wins time-trial gold

Alex Dowsett claimed gold in a closely fought men's time trial at the Commonwealth Games.

Laura Trott: Won the points race on count-back after finishing level on points with Elinor Barker

Trott pips Barker to gold

Laura Trott took Commonwealth gold for England after edging out Elinor Barker in the women's points race.

Joanna Rowsell dominated the final from start to finish

Rowsell wins pursuit gold

Joanna Rowsell won gold in the individual pursuit at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Most Popular


Vuelta lessons

Vuelta lessons

Eight things we learnt from the final Grand Tour of the season, won by Alberto Contador.

New direction

New direction

In the latest instalment of her blog, Joanna Rowsell explains why she has changed teams.

Riders to watch

Riders to watch

We pick out the GC contenders, sprinters and Britons to keep an eye on at the Tour of Britain.