Russian rules on Le Tour

Hincapie just misses out on yellow, now second behind Nocentini

Last Updated: 18/07/09 6:25pm

  • Share:
Ivanov: Second stage win in the Tour de France

Ivanov: Second stage win in the Tour de France

Sky Bet

Serguei Ivanov burst clear of a 12-man breakaway to win the 14th stage of the Tour de France, though Saturday's action was marred by the death of a spectator.

The Russian, who rides for the Katusha team, made his move 10 kilometres from the end of the 199-km ride from Colmar to Besancon.

However, the 34-year-old's second stage win in Le Tour was overshadowed by the first fatality in the event since 2002.

A woman was killed when she was hit by by a motorbike involved with the race as she crossed the road near the town of Wittelsheim. Two other people were also injured in the accident.

Pulled clear

Ivanov, who won a Tour stage back in 2001, was part of the group that pulled clear of the peleton, at one point opening up a gap of eight minutes and 40 seconds.

"I waited for the right moment (to attack). I surprised some riders and at that point I just gave everything I had," he said afterwards. "I have been waiting for this one for so long. Today's win is amazing."

Nicolas Roche produced a late sprint to finish in second, the Irishman holding off New Zealander Hayden Roulston right on the line.

George Hincapie of the Columbia team was not far behind in eighth and then had to wait and see if he would end the day in the yellow jersey.

In the end the American missed out by just five seconds, Rinaldo Nocentini retaining top spot in the overall standings after his AG2r-La Mondiale team picked up the pace at the front of the peleton in the closing 50km.

Astana duo

Alberto Contador is in third place, six seconds off the leader, with Astana team-mate Lance Armstrong now in fourth, eight seconds adrift of Nocentini.

Mark Cavendish, who had gone with the early breakaway riders before quickly dropping back, was disqualified from the stage after finishing 13th.

The rider from the Isle of Man was penalised for barging green jersey rival Thor Hushovd during the bunch sprint. He was eventually placed 154th and now trails the Norwegian by eight points in the sprint standings.

The competitors take part in their first Alpine stage on Sunday when they head for the Swiss ski resort of Verbier.

Stage 14 result:
1. Sergei Ivanov (Russia / Katusha) 4hrs 37mins 46secs
2. Nicolas Roche (Ireland / AG2R ) +16
3. Hayden Roulston (New Zealand / Cervelo )
4. Martijn Maaskant (Netherlands / Garmin )
5. Sebastien Minard (France / Cofidis )
6. Daniele Righi (Italy / Lampre )
7. Christophe Le Mevel (France / Francaise des Jeux )
8. George Hincapie (U.S. / Columbia )
9. Daniele Bennati (Italy / Liquigas )
10. Gerald Ciolek (Germany / Milram ) +22

Overall standings:
1. Rinaldo Nocentini (Italy / AG2R ) 58hrs 13mins 52secs
2. George Hincapie (U.S. / Columbia ) +5"
3. Alberto Contador (Spain / Astana ) +6"
4. Lance Armstrong (U.S. / Astana ) +8"
5. Christophe Le Mevel (France / Francaise des Jeux ) +43"
6. Bradley Wiggins (Britain / Garmin ) +46"

  • Share:


Tour de France 2009

Cavendish: First Brit to win on Champs Elysees

Cav wins, Contador crowned

Mark Cavendish clinched his sixth stage win on the Champs Elysees as Alberto Contador was crowned 2009 Tour de France champion.

Garate: First to finish on Mount Vertoux

Garate day for Spaniards

Juan Manuel Garate won the penultimate stage of the Tour de France as Alberto Contador all-but secured overall victory.

Cavendish: British record

Five-star win for Cavendish

Mark Cavendish became the most successful British rider in Tour de France history with his fifth stage win of this year's race.

Most Popular


Time for redemption

Time for redemption

In the first instalment of her new blog, Orla Chennaoui looks ahead to the world championships

Vuelta lessons

Vuelta lessons

Eight things we learnt from the final Grand Tour of the season, won by Alberto Contador.

Cycling transfers

Cycling transfers

A team-by-team guide to which riders are on the move and where for the 2015 season.