Sir Bradley Wiggins wins British time trial title for third time after beating Geraint Thomas

Last Updated: 27/06/14 12:22pm

  • Share:
Bradley Wiggins previously won the British time trial title in 2009 and 2010

Bradley Wiggins previously won the British time trial title in 2009 and 2010

Sky Bet

Sir Bradley Wiggins comfortably defeated Team Sky team-mate Geraint Thomas to win the British national time trial title for the third time.

Wiggins stopped the clock on a hilly 42km course in Wales in a time of 53min 56sec, which was 1min 8sec faster than runner-up Thomas and 1min 21sec quicker than third-placed Alex Dowsett, the defending champion.

Wiggins was already 38 seconds ahead of Thomas, his nearest challenger, at the half-way mark and defied heavy rain to extend his lead on the second of two laps around Celtic Manor, near Newport.

Veteran rider David Millar, who is riding at his final national championships before retirement, retired from the race at just over half distance in order to aid his recovery from a cough ahead of Sunday's British national road race.

"It was full commitment today," said Wiggins after taking victory. "Any time trial you go into as Olympic champion, especially at the British championships, you want to win it. 

"This is probably the best British championships they've ever had in terms of the field and the way the event's been run.

"I think G (Thomas) was perhaps the rider I feared most today, especially on home soil and the form he's in. I didn't take anything for granted today."

British men’s national time trial result

1 Sir Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky), 53:56
2 Geraint Thomas (Team Sky), +1:08
3 Alex Dowsett (Movistar), +1:21
4 Luke Rowe (Team Sky), +3:01

  • Share:


2014 cycling news

Chris Froome's season has been plagued by crashes and injury

Froome injury free for 2015

Chris Froome is confident the injuries he sustained in 2014 will not be a problem for him next year.

Belkin will end their association with the Dutch squad at the end of the season

Belkin to be named TEAMLottoNL

Belkin will be provisionally known as TEAMLottoNL next season after finalising two sponsorship deals.

Winner Anacona won stage nine of this year's Vuelta a Espana

Movistar snap up Anacona

Movistar have signed Colombia’s Winner Anacona and Australia’s Rory Sutherland on two-year deals.

Most Popular


NFL Power Rankings

NFL Power Rankings

Simon Veness assesses the movers and shakers after another wild Week Four in the NFL.

Balague: Contenders not ready

Balague: Contenders not ready

Athletic, Sevilla and Valencia haven't yet got what it takes to crack the top three, says Guillem Balague.

Neville blames Toon signings

Neville blames Toon signings

Gary Neville says Newcastle boss Alan Pardew is suffering for failing to sign enough experience.