Emma Pooley wins British time-trial title for the third time after beating Katie Archibald

Last Updated: 26/06/14 9:15pm

  • Share:
Emma Pooley previously won the national time trial title in 2009 and 2010

Emma Pooley previously won the national time trial title in 2009 and 2010

Sky Bet

Emma Pooley has won the British national time-trial title for the third time after a dominant win on a hilly 12.5-mile course in Wales.

The 31-year-old Lotto Belisol Ladies rider stopped the clock in a time of 30min 18sec, which was 39 seconds faster than runner-up Katie Archibald and 51 seconds faster than third-placed Dame Sarah Storey.

The result sees Pooley reclaim the title she previously won in 2009 and 2010.

She said afterwards: "It has been quite a few years since I have ridden the national championships so actually I think every time I have ridden it, I have won it. It's really special because it's quite a while since I have won a race.

"I knew I was going to race for appoximately half an hour, so the idea was to not totally smash yourself on the hills but keeping the power up on the descents as well - and not fall off. It rained in the last few minutes and got pretty slippy."

Defending champion Joanna Rowsell had to be content with sixth place, while her Wiggle-Honda team-mate Laura Trott claimed fifth place.

Lizzie Armitstead, who was second last year, had been due to race but did not take part.

Earlier in the day, Scott Davies won the under-23 men’s title after beating Owain Doull into second place by 24 seconds.

Women’s national time trial result

1 Emma Pooley, 30:18
2 Katie Archibald, +39secs
3 Sarah Storey, +51
4 Elinor Barker, +1:04
5 Laura Trott, +1:09
6 Joanna Rowsell, +1:23
7 Lucy Coldwell, +1:25
8 Dani King, +2:10
9 Emily Robertson, +2:48
10 Claire Galloway, +2:53

  • Share:


2014 cycling news

Matthias Brandle broke the hour record with a distance of 51.852km

Brandle breaks hour record

Austrian rider Matthias Brandle has set a new hour record with a distance of 51.852km.

Alberto Contador previously won the Velo d'Or in 2008, 2009 and 2010

Contador wins Velo d'Or

Alberto Contador has won the Velo d’Or award for the fourth time in his career.

Team Europcar joined the UCI WorldTour this year

Europcar to end sponsorship

Europcar will cease its sponsorship of the French cycling team at the end of next season.

Most Popular


Rumble remembered

Rumble remembered

Muhammad Ali and George Foreman met in Kinshasa 40 years ago, so we got Colin Hart to take us back.

The rivals reunite

The rivals reunite

They will walk the walk on November 22 so Nathan Cleverly and Tony Bellew continue to talk the talk...

Merson's predictions

Merson's predictions

Villa to beat Spurs and a draw in the Manchester derby... read what Paul Merson predicts this week.