Scheldeprijs: Marcel Kittel wins for third time as Luke Rowe sees late attack fall short

Last Updated: 09/04/14 6:26pm

  • Share:
Marcel Kittel has now won Scheldeprijs for the last three years

Marcel Kittel has now won Scheldeprijs for the last three years

Sky Bet

Britain’s Luke Rowe saw a late attack fall short as Germany’s Marcel Kittel sprinted to his third consecutive win at the Belgian one-day classic Scheldeprijs.

Team Sky rider Rowe formed part of the day’s six-man breakaway and subsequently launched a solo bid for glory 7km out, but was reeled back in just over 3km later.

The last of the breakaway riders were swallowed up with 2.5km to go, which set a bunch sprint that Kittel won with ease.

The Giant-Shimano rider piggy-backed on to Omega Pharma-Quick-Step’s train and then surged clear of his rivals to win by three bike-lengths from second-placed Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp) and third-placed Danny van Poppel (Trek Factory Racing).

The victory takes him level with Britain’s Mark Cavendish and Belgium’s Petrus Oellibrandt as the most prolific winners in the race’s history.

Highlights of the race will be screened on Sky Sports 3 from 11.30pm BST.


1 Marcel Kittel (Ger) Giant-Shimano, 4:33:53
2 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp, same time
3 Danny van Poppel (Ned) Trek Factory Racing, st
4 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step, st
5 Sam Bennett (Ire) NetApp-Endura, st
6 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, st
7 Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Wanty-Groupe Gobert, st
8 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Astana, st
9 Yannick Martinez (Fra) Europcar, st
10 Matteo Pelucchi (Ita) IAM Cycling, st

  • Share:


Classics 2014

The 257km race was played out in dry and dusty conditions

Paris-Roubaix gallery

The best photos from a sensational edition of the 'Hell of the North'

Wiggins honoured to finish in top 10

Thomas & Wiggins in top 10

Niki Terpstra won Paris-Roubaix as Geraint Thomas finished seventh and Bradley Wiggins ninth.

Paris-Roubaix is also known as the 'Hell of the North'

Live: Paris-Roubaix 2014

Follow all the action from the "Hell of the North", where Fabian Cancellara is defending champion.

Most Popular


This week's YouTube top five

This week's YouTube top five

A failed try, Stelling's showdown and Boris trips a child... here's what you've been watching.

1981 revisited

1981 revisited

We look back on Liverpool's 1981 European Cup win over Real Madrid, ahead of their midweek meeting.

Bertrand #One2Eleven

Bertrand #One2Eleven

Southampton’s Ryan Bertrand names the best players he’s played alongside in #one2eleven.