Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Bangladesh v New Zealand: Spin bowler Abdur Razzak recalled; Mohammad Ashraful axed

Abdur Razzak: Could play Test cricket for the first time since 2011 against New Zealand

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Bangladesh have named spinner Abdur Razzak in their 14-man Test squad to face New Zealand in the upcoming two-match series.

Razzaq, while a regular in the limited-overs squads, has not represented Bangladesh in Test cricket since the tour of Zimbabwe back in 2011.

Other notable inclusions in the squad to face the Black Caps are Anamul Haque, Naeem Islam, Marshall Ayub and Al-Amin Hossain.

Retained in the squad from the recent tour of Zimbabwe were Robiul Islam, despite injury, and Mahmudullah, despite his poor form in the last series, where he made only one fifty.

A number of names were dropped from the side, most notably Mohammad Ashraful and Shahriar Nafees, while Enamul Haque jnr, Jahurul Islam, Sajedul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Shahadat Hossain and Ziaur Rahman also found themselves surplus to requirements.

The first Test will be played in Chittagong on October 9-13, and the second in Dhaka (Oct 21-25) before the the sides contest three ODIs and a T20I.

Squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Mahmudullah, Anamul Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Naeem Islam, Sohag Gazi, Rubel Hossain, Mominul Haque, Marshall Ayub, Robiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain.