Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Ross Taylor returning to New Zealand team to face England

Ross Taylor: Back in New Zealand squad

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Former captain Ross Taylor will return to the New Zealand team to face England in the forthcoming T20 and ODI internationals.

Taylor has been named in the Black Caps squad having sat out their recent tour of South Africa following his controversial dismissal as skipper.

He has reportedly patched up his differences with coach Mike Hesson and will return to face England in three T20 internationals and three ODIs.

The Central Districts batsman could also face England in two T20 warm-up matches in Whangarei.

He is joined in the limited-overs squads by all-rounder Andrew Ellis, who is set to lead a New Zealand XI against England on Monday and Wednesday at the Cobham Oval.

Opener Hamish Rutherford, son for former New Zealand Test batsman Ken, is included in the short-forman squads for the first time, the only uncapped player.

The Kiwis' top seamer Tim Southee, misses out as he continues his recovery from a thumb injury.

New Zealand's national selection general manager Kim Littlejohn said: "There are a couple of changes that have been forced through injury, but essentially we want to be seen to provide continuity from one series to the next.

"We are, however, looking at developing talented youngsters and finding a new crop of all-rounders in our build-up to the Champions Trophy in June and the 2015 Cricket World Cup."

Hesson added: "Andrew Ellis proved his worth with the team last summer, while Ross is a world-class batsman who is a key part of this Black Caps side.

"Hamish has shown he is an explosive batsman, and we hope he can bring that form to the Black Caps."

Twenty20 squad: B McCullum, T Boult, I Butler, G Elliott, A Ellis, J Franklin, M Guptill, R Hira, M McClenaghan, N McCullum, C Munro, H Rutherford, R Taylor

ODI squad: B McCullum, T Boult, G Elliott, A Ellis, J Franklin, M Guptill, M McClenaghan, N McCullum, Kyle Mills, C Munro, R Taylor, BJ Watling, K Williamson