Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

England and Wales will host the 2019 Cricket World Cup

Sachin Tendulkar with ICC Cricket World Cup

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

England and Wales will host the 2019 Cricket World Cup, the ECB has confirmed.

The tournament will be held throughout June 2019 and will be played at 10 venues with Edgbaston hosting the final.

ECB chief executive David Collier said: "The signing of this agreement now enables ECB to enter into Staging Agreements with venues who wish to stage matches in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

"The Organising Team from the ICC Champions Trophy 2013, led by Tournament Director Steve Elworthy, will commence the preparation work for this event immediately following the conclusion of the ICC Champions Trophy, which ends with the final at Edgbaston on June 23.


"The ECB is honoured to have been selected to stage one of the largest and most important global sports events which will be a wonderful boost to sport and cricket in particular throughout England and Wales."

ICC chief executive David Richardson added: "The ICC Cricket World Cup attracts a broadcast audience in excess of 1.5 billion people and is one of the premier events in world cricket.

"England and Wales boasts a number of high quality cricket venues providing players, officials and spectators with excellent facilities. We look forward to working with the ECB to deliver an outstanding tournament."

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is scheduled to involve 10 teams.