Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

England wicketkeeper Matt Prior named Player of the Year at ECB awards

Matt Prior with Katherine Brunt (ECB Women's Cricketer of the Year) and Matthew Dean (ECB Disability Cricketer of the Year)

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Matt Prior has become the first wicketkeeper to be named England Cricketer of the Year.

The Sussex gloveman collected the coveted honour at the annual England and Wales Cricket Board awards dinner at Lord's, edging out James Anderson and Alastair Cook in a poll of members of the cricketing media.

Prior named cricketer of the year

Prior has enjoyed an outstanding year both with the bat and the gauntlets, scoring seven Test half-centuries as well as a memorable century which helped England salvage a series draw in New Zealand earlier this year.

His unbeaten century in Auckland was also voted the TwelfthMan Cricketing Moment of the Year by members of ECB TwelfthMan fan community on Facebook.

Brunt honoured

Katherine Brunt picked up the Women's Player of the Year award, while Essex and England U19 wicketkeeper Ben Foakes was named England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year.

Brunt, who also lifted the Women's award in 2006 and 2010, was England's best bowler in the recent ICC World Cup in India and was chosen ahead of Holly Colvin, Charlotte Edwards and Sarah Taylor.

All three award winners were honoured at Lord's along with Matthew Dean, who won the England Disability Cricketer of the Year award for his efforts with the visually-impaired squad.

Prior named cricketer of the year

ECB chief executive David Collier said: "There have some memorable individual performances across all our England teams over the past year.

"It was a 12 month period which saw the England Men's team win a Test Series in India for the first time in 28 years and the England Women complete a clean sweep of four NatWest series wins at home last summer.

"We congratulate the winners, Matt, Katherine, Matthew and Ben, on their individual achievements and thank all those who took part in the judging process as well as our team sponsor Brit, and the MCC, for their help in staging our annual awards ceremony."