Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

England and Australia agree new format for 2013 Women's Ashes series

England Women celebrate victory in Australia in 2011

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

The winners of this summers Women's Ashes will be decided across all three formats of the game in a groundbreaking new format.

The England and Wales Cricket Board and Cricket Australia have announced that the 2013 series in August will feature one Test match, three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 matches.

Points will be awarded for each match, with six points on offer to the winners of the Test and two points up for grabs in each of the limited-overs clashes, and the team collecting most points will be crowned Ashes winners.

ECB chief executive David Collier commented: "The Women's and Men's Ashes series will provide two exciting back to back series commencing this summer in England and continuing in Australia this winter.

"The innovative format for the Women's Ashes will ensure the widest possible interest in these series and ECB looks forward to a wonderful programme of cricket played by two of the leading women's teams in world cricket."

Head of England Women's cricket, Clare Connor added: "The women's game has seen huge growth in interest and profile as a result of the limited overs formats in recent years.

"The new Women's Ashes Series looks to combine this reality with the prestige and tradition of Test match cricket.

"We believe that this new multi-format series will gain significantly more profile and context than can be generated by playing a one-off Test match every couple of years.

"Re-branding the Women's Ashes to a multi-format series is an innovative way forward for players, spectators and the media and we look forward to a hard-fought contest spanning three weeks in August."

Women's Ashes Series 2013 schedule:

11-14 August, Test match, Wormsley

20 August, First ODI, Lord's

23 August, Second ODI, Hove

25 August, Third ODI, Hove

27 August, First Twenty20, Chelmsford

29 August, Second Twenty20, Ageas Bowl

31 August, Third Twenty20, Emirates Durham

Test winners will earn six points, with two points for a draw, and winners of the limited-overs matches will earn two points, with one point for a tie or a no-result.