Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Nathan Coulter-Nile and Mitchell Marsh win ICC Champions Trophy call-ups

Nathan Coulter-Nile: First call-up to the Australia 50-over squad

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Western Australia stars Nathan Coulter-Nile and Mitchell Marsh are the only new faces in Australia's Champions Trophy squad.

The selectors have largely stuck with experience for the tournament in England, which precedes the Ashes.

Australia, who have won the last two Champions Trophy titles, will be captained by Michael Clarke with T20 skipper and current Hampshire batsman George Bailey named as his No 2.

All-rounder Coulter-Nile, 25, has won his first call to the 50-over squad thanks to some explosive performances in the domestic Ryobi Cup.

Batsmen Marsh, 21, has struggled with injuries but made the squad for the first time in a year thanks to some superb domestic performances, unlike his brother Shaun who was beaten to the last batting spot by Adam Voges.

Ben Cutting, Steve Smith, Aaron Finch and Moises Henriques were the players dropped since the last one-day series.

James Pattinson and Ryan Harris, considered the spearheads of the Test pace attack, will not play and will be in the Australia A squad to prepare them for the Ashes.

Chief selector John Inverarity said: "Coulter-Nile is an emerging cricketer as a fast-medium bowler and explosive lower-order batsman.

"He is also one of the finest fieldsmen in Australian cricket and the energy he brings to his game is impressive. While Nathan has played a T20 International for Australia, we are looking forward to seeing him take his very good domestic limited overs form onto the world stage."

Selectors also expect injured fast bowlers Mitchell Starc and Clint McKay to be fit.

"Mitchell Starc and Clint McKay are recovering well from injury and are meeting targets that should ensure their readiness for the tournament. Starc showed his ability with the white ball with two devastating spells in Perth last summer while McKay is Australia's reigning ODI player of the year," Inverarity said.

"Both players are integral to our plans and along with Mitchell Johnson, form the core of the limited-overs bowling group."

Australia have been drawn to play England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka in the group stages and plays their first match against England on June 8 at Edgbaston.

Australia Champions Trophy 15-man squad: Michael Clarke (c), George Bailey (vc), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Clint McKay, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson

Related Profiles