Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

West Indies skittled for 70 as Australia romp to victory in Perth

Mitchell Starc celebrates dismissing Kieran Powell

Clint McKay claims the first wicket with the dismissal of Chris Gayle

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Starc combined to guide Australia to an emphatic nine-wicket win over a woeful West Indies in Perth.

Starc set the hosts on their way with five wickets as the Windies were dismissed for just 70 - their third lowest-ever ODI score - while Maxwell then hit an unbeaten half-century as Australia won in little more than nine overs.

Windies captain Darren Sammy will have been left ruing his decision to bat first after winning the toss - with the tourists lasting just 23.5 overs.

Four players were dismissed for ducks with only Sammy (16), Keiran Powell (11) and Darren Bravo (11) reaching double figures.

Clint McKay struck first as he removed the dangerous Chris Gayle for just four, while Starc (5-20) struck twice in the fifth over to account for Powell and then Sarwan.

From 14-0, West Indies slumped to 19-5 - with Dwayne Bravo and Pollard heading back to the pavilion without scoring as Starc ripped through the innings.


James Faulkner (2-14) then struck twice as he removed Devon Thomas and Dwayne Bravo -outside edges finding Michael Clarke at first slip.

Sammy and debutant Jason Holder (seven) led a brief revival with a 26-run partnership before McKay returned to remove the skipper.

McKay (3-10) then had Sunil Narine caught behind before Starc returned to knock over Holder.

If there were any thoughts Australia would find the total tricky, they were soon forgotten when Maxwell plundered three fours and a towering six off Kemar Roach's first over.

The tourists did at least avoid a 10-wicket whitewash after Aaron Finch was caught behind off Holder but that failed to stop Maxwell's charge as he reached 51 not out off 35 balls, while Usman Khawaja (eight not out) hit the winning runs.