Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

England opener Nick Compton named as one of Wisden's five Cricketers of the Year

Nick Compton celebrates a century for England in New Zealand

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Nick Compton has joined grandfather Denis in being named as one of Wisden's five Cricketers of the Year.

The Somerset star is the only Englishman in this year's list, and he joins South African trio Jacques Kallis, Hashim Amla and Dale Steyn plus the hero of the West Indies' World T20 triumph, Marlon Samuels.

Players can only be named as one of the select five once in their careers, and Australia captain Michael Clarke - who has been selected before - was named the leading cricketer in the world in Wisden's 150th anniversary year.

The cricketers of the year are nominated for their achievements in the previous English summer, with the Proteas stars rewarded for their 2-0 Test series win over a home side they ultimately replaced as world number ones.

For Compton, though, it is recognition of a stunning season for Somerset in the county game in which he amassed 1,494 first-class runs with a remarkable average of 99.6.

Test recognition

He almost became the first man since Graham Hick in 1988 to break 1,000 first-class runs before the end of May - indeed only rain at New Road denied him that.

But his heroics earned a call-up to the England Test side and he performed well in both India and New Zealand.

Perhaps the most surprising thing about this year's list is that Kallis - one of the world's leading all-rounders for the last decade - has not been named before.

The 'leading cricketer' award is only 10 years old. Eight others have won it - with Virender Sehwag doing so twice - including two other Australians in Shane Warne and Ricky Ponting.

Do you regard Nick Compton as Alastair Cook's long-term opening partner for England?

  • Yes
  • No