Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Cricket Writers' awards for Ben Stokes and Wayne Madsen

Ben Stokes: Cricket Writers' Club Young Cricketer of the Year

Wayne Madsen: The Cricket Writers' Club County Player of the Year

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Durham and England all-rounder Ben Stokes has been named the Cricket Writers' Club Young Cricketer of the Year.

Stokes played a key role in helping Durham to the County Championship title and last week he has been named in England's Test squad for the winter Ashes series in Australia.

Stokes, who follows Joe Root in winning the 64-year-old award, took 42 wickets at 26.57 in Division One and scored 615 runs - including a crucial century in the win over title rivals Yorkshire at Scarborough.

Stokes, 22, put himself firmly in the Ashes frame with some fine performances in the one-day international series against Australia, taking career-best figures of 5-61 in the final match at Southampton.

Derbyshire captain Wayne Madsen won the Cricket Writers' Club County Player of the Year.

Despite his county suffering relegation Madsen was the second most prolific batsman in the top flight, scoring 1,221 runs at 43.60.

He earned plaudits too for walking during a Division One match against Yorkshire this summer. Chasing the Tykes' mammoth 617, Madsen got the slightest of edges from a ball from Steve Patterson.

There was one appeal from a solitary Yorkshire fielder and he was given not out by the umpire Jeff Evans. But Madsen walked back to the pavilion and later insisted it was a matter of principal.

He went on to score a superb century in the second innings, but Derbyshire still lost by an innings.