Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Ballance takes title

Yorkshire star hit 28 sixes this season

Ballance receives his award from Sky Sports presenter David Gower

Ballance: held his own at the top for the last seven weeks of the county season

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Yorkshire's Gary Ballance completed his domination of the 2012 Sky Sports Sixes League to claim the top prize.

His margin of victory is the largest in the competition since Graham Napier won in 2008 by nine maximums. At the age of just 22, he is also the youngest player to win the crown, surpassing Cameron White, who was 23 when he became the 2006 champion.

Ballance hit 17 sixes in the Clydesdale Bank 40 - joint top with Eoin Morgan - and added 11 more in the Friends Life t20.

It was his team-mate David Miller who cleared the boundary most often in that competition, with 21 of his 22 sixes over the course of the season coming in the shortest format of the county game.

Ballance takes home the £2,000 prize money and was presented with the Sky Sports Sixes League trophy at Thursday's PCA Awards Dinner.

Jason Gillespie, Yorkshire's first team coach, said: "Gary was a very consistent player for Yorkshire this summer. Our only player to play every game in all forms.

"He played his role in limited overs cricket well this season, clearing the rope many times and most importantly, keeping a level head in pressured situations. He will be pleased to receive this award, knowing he made important contributions to the team cause throughout the season. Well done Gary."

Season table

G BallanceYor28608
D MillerYor22312
M CarberryHam21662
S CroftLan21794
E MorganMid20197
T Smith Lan20258
L WrightSus20586
J FosterEss17335
P MustardDur17503
M PettiniEss17562

Previous winners:

2011: Darren Stevens (30)

2010: Ryan ten Doeschate (30)

2009: Dwayne Smith (29)

2008: Graham Napier (36)

2007: Graeme Hick (28)

2006: Cameron White (32)

2005: Ian Blackwell (45)

2004: Mark Ealham (20)