Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Australia select James Muirhead for T20 series with England

James Muirhead: Has played just four T20 matches in his career

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Australia have included leg-spinner James Muirhead in their Twenty20 squad for the three-match series against England.

The 20-year-old only made his first-class debut in January 2013 and has two Sheffield Shield appearances to his name and just four in the shortest format of the game.

However, last week he took 3-52 against England for a Prime Minister's XI in a tour match in Canberra.

The home side have opted to rest a number of their regular T20 side for the upcoming series, with the likes of David Warner, Shane Watson and Mitchell Johnson not included.

Batsmen Chris Lynn is the only other uncapped player named in the squad, which also includes all-rounders Dan Christian and Ben Cutting, and will be captained by George Bailey.


"The ICC World Twenty20 is just around the corner and these and other players will come into contention for our 15-man squad for that tournament," said national selector John Inverarity.

"The NSP (National Selection Panel) is looking to develop spin bowling options for both the ICC World Twenty20 and the 2015 ICC World Cup.

"Cameron White and Chris Lynn have been in tremendous form this season and have shown themselves to be destructive hitters of the ball, as have all-rounders Dan Christian and Ben Cutting.

"Twenty-year-old James Muirhead has impressed recently. He is an exciting prospect as an emerging leg-spinner and will be looking to make the most of his opportunity."

Cricket Australia confirmed that Warner, Watson and Johnson, who all played significant roles in their sides 5-0 Ashes whitewash of England, will fly to South Africa on 29 January - the date of the first T20 in Hobart - to prepare for the Test series against Proteas, which starts on 12 February.

"The NSP is supporting (Australia coach) Darren Lehmann and (captain) Michael Clarke in their strong desire to give this Test series the highest priority and have the best possible preparation for the players who have performed so admirably this summer. As such some Test players and others were not considered for the KFC T20 International squad," said Inverarity.

Australia squad: G Bailey (captain), A Finch, D Christian, N Coulter-Nile, B Cutting, J Faulkner, J Hazelwood, M Henriques, G Maxwell, J Muirhead, C Lynn, M Starc, M Wade, C White.