Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Dwayne Bravo named West Indies captain for the forthcoming Champions Trophy

Dwayne Bravo will lead the West Indies in this year's Champions Trophy

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Dwayne Bravo has been announced as the West Indies' one-day skipper, with Darren Sammy staying on as captain of the Test and Twenty20 sides.

Bravo's first assignment will be at next month's Champions Trophy in England.

Clyde Butts, the West Indies Cricket Board selection panel chairman, said: "Our results in Tests and T20s have been showing consistent improvement and Sammy deserves every kudos for the work he has done in leading and moulding the team in these formats.

"We remain confident in his leadership in these formats and will recommend that he continues as the captain for Test and T20 cricket.

"However, our ODI results have not been as strong and we believe that it is best that we freshen the leadership of the team in this format."

Sammy led the Windies to the World Twenty20 title last October but has overseen only three ODI series victories in the past three years.

Butts continued: "Dwayne is an experienced, seasoned and senior cricketer who has demonstrated leadership qualities.

"He has served as West Indies vice-captain and has had some success when he has led the West Indies team on occasions. We believe that his transition to the position of captaincy will be a smooth one."

The WICB also announced its squad for next month's Champions Trophy.

Kieran Powell was not considered for selection due to a finger injury, and there were no spots for Andre Russell, Narsingh Deonarine or Veerasammy Permaul.

Squad: Dwayne Bravo (c), Denesh Ramdin (v-c), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravindranath Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith.

Who will win the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy?

  • England
  • South Africa
  • Australia
  • West Indies
  • India
  • Pakistan
  • New Zealand
  • Sri Lanka