Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Champions Trophy: England recall Ravi Bopara; Graeme Swann and Tim Bresnan included

Ravi Bopara: Essex star back in England favour

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Ravi Bopara has been recalled to the England squad for this summer's Champions Trophy.

The Essex star has not played for England since last year's World Twenty20 campaign in Sri Lanka.

He was dropped for the winter tours of India and New Zealand but finds himself back in favour and included in the 15-man squad for the tournament which begins next month.

There were otherwise few surprises in the England squad. Tim Bresnan, back in form and fully fit, returns to the squad after missing the New Zealand tour because of injury.

England ICC Champions Trophy squad

Warwickshire's Chris Woakes wins the final fast bowling spot, the pair joining the pace shoe-ins James Anderson, Stuart Broad and Steve Finn.


Graeme Swann and James Tredwell are the two spinners, with Samit Patel missing out.

With Kevin Pietersen and Craig Kieswetter both injured, the established batting quartet of Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott and Eoin Morgan are joined - as expected - by Joe Root, Jos Buttler and Jonny Bairstow.

Bairstow will battle it out with Somerset's Buttler for the wicketkeeper's gloves.

National selector Geoff Miller said: "The ICC Champions Trophy provides this England squad with a great opportunity to win an global 50 over event - something we have yet to achieve, and we are excited to be playing on home soil.

"We are fully aware that with the best eight sides in world cricket competing against each other we will need to play a very high standard of cricket over a three week period to give ourselves a chance of winning the title and we are very much looking forward to the challenge."

England open their campaign against Australia at Edgbaston on 8 June with Group A matches with Sri Lanka and New Zealand to follow.

England's squad will be the same for the forthcoming one-day matches with New Zealand.

England: Alastair Cook, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes

Is this England squad capable of winning the Champions Trophy?

  • Yes
  • No
  • Not sure